Your problem "topics" should be relevant to our local area. Thus, local journalism like the Arkansas Democrat Gazette (link below) or The Arkansas Traveler might help you identify local issues for further exploration.
Another option is to use a database like CQ Researcher (link below) to identify national and international problems and then further explore how they affect Arkansas.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse the sources below to find general information about local areas.
Use these sources to find vital or social statistics of the local population.
Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
Includes State Park maps, highway maps, camping maps, and waterways maps.
Includes daily traffic maps, bicycle suitability map, and bridge restriction map.
Interactive map includes satellite images, traffic, streets and routes, local government and businesses.
Use the personalized interactive feature to create custom maps of locations, businesses, or routes.
Current and historic digital maps of Arkansas.
Nice collection of digitized historic Arkansas maps.
CAST's collection of the digital library and archive of datasets they have created, ranging from information on avian habitat in the US, conservation planning areas in South America, soils mapping and watershed information for Arkansas, land use and land cover for Central America and Arkansas, declassified high resolution satellite imagery from the 1960s and 1970s for the Near East and many high density (laser scanning) data sets from locations around the world.
Published by the Washington County Historical Society, this book contains a history of the city, images of historic buildings, pictorial works, biographical sketches, and social life and customs.
written by Anthony J. Wappel, with Ethel C. Simpson, the book is a chronological history of the houses, buildings, and businesses on Fayetteville's Dickson Street.
