Research Guides: COMM 1313 : Public Speaking: Useful Databases for Comm 1313

Useful Databases for Comm 1313

Databases are collections of data. Academic databases often contain records of journal articles, book chapters, and other peer reviewed sources can be used to develop an annotated bibliography or works referenced page.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1980-.Offers the full text of reference sources in all disciplines. Users can search for specific words or concepts or browse by subject area. Special tools include a concept map that charts the occurrences of search and related terms across the collection and an image search. Topic pages covering people, places, events, or ideas pull together information from across several different reference sources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1991-. Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: varies; most newspapers are 1990s-; legal materials extend back to the 19th century. Offers news, legal, and business information from both English language and international sources, including newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts as well as directories, corporate profiles, SEC Filings, business, industry and market news, federal and state case law, codes and regulations, law reviews and much more.

AllSides.com
AllSides.com exposes people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. Our balanced news coverage, media bias ratings, civil dialogue opportunities, and technology platform are available for everyone and can be integrated by schools, nonprofits, media companies, and more.

DataPlanet now Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Sage Knowledge Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 2003-. Offers scholarly handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias in the social sciences.
Sage Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides videos covering key concepts, case studies, interviews, and in-practice sessions or demonstrations. In 11 topics areas including Business and Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Media, Communication, & Cultural Studies, Nursing, Political Science & International Relations, Social Work, and Sociology.