Research Guides: GNEG: Introduction to Engineering: Home

For Help Contact

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins 423

479-575-2480

Subjects: Biological and Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Operations Management

Purpose of This Page

This Research Guide brings together resources that will be of assistance for students, staff and faculty of the Freshman Engineering Program. If you are looking for a quick link, choose the appropriate tab. If you are unsure where to go, try one of the more specific Research Guides or specialized subject resources listed below.

Some of the pages are designed for specific assignments and lectures. For more general engineering resources, please go to the Engineering Research Guide.

Getting Started

For quick access using a Google-like search -- try our OneSearch. This tool searches many of the library databases and provides direct links to ILL as well as full text.

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Covers: current. The online successor to McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, illustrations and related links.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

Best Bets - Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 1990s- with some content back to the 19th century. A general research database that includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Offers academic and trade journals, popular magazines as well as some books, reports, and websites. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for some journals.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1884-. Indexes journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, and selected technical reports and books in all engineering disciplines as well as related fields in the sciences and management. On the Engineering Village platform.