Research Guides: Marketing Research: Market & Consumer Research

Consumer & Product Data

Library Databases

Business Market Research Collection
Covers: 1986-. Offers company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots. A part of the ProQuest Central database.
Sage Data
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Mintel Reports: Academic Edition
Covers: current. Provides detailed reports on marketing, advertising, product category trends, and consumer attitudes, as well as financial and company data, including recent mergers and acquisitions.
MRI-Simmons Insights
Covers: current 3 years. Provides information about consumer purchases of brands, product types, and media consumption. The data is drawn from MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, which focuses on demographic, product and media data.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
WARC
Covers: current. Offers marketing research, including branding, start-ups, consumer attention, neuromarketing, packaging, experiential marketing, cultural insights, global, non-profits, and more. Note that the UofA only has access to certain segments of WARC, including Strategy and case studies, Digital Commerce, and some rankings and surveys.
Please note that deep links to specific studies work on campus or through the campus VPN.

Provided to campus through the support of the Walton College of Business.

Websites

Bureau of Labor Statistics. American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau's online, self-service tool designed to search a variety of population, economic, geographic and housing information.
County Business Patterns
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
State & County Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Data USA
Designed to highlight Fayetteville, AR this database provides visualization tools to gather government data.
State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)
SOCDS offers data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs: demographic & economic characteristics of the population; current employment statistics for city residents; jobs, business establishments & average pay since the 1990s; data on violent & property crime rates collected by the FBI; local building permits; city & suburban government finances; Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy (CHAS) data.
Citydata.com
The data is pulled from government websites at all levels as well as other data producers. We have over 74,000 city photos not found anywhere else, graphs of the latest real estate prices and sales trends, recent home sales, a home value estimator, hundreds of thousands of maps, satellite photos, demographic data (race, income, ancestries, education, employment), geographic data, state profiles, crime data, registered sex offenders, cost of living, housing, religions, businesses, local news links based on our exclusive technology, birthplaces of famous people, political contributions, city government finances, employment, weather, natural disasters, hospitals, schools and libraries.
DataFerrett (U.S. Census Bureau)
DataFerrett is a unique data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. (FERRETT stands for Federated Electronic Research, Review, Extraction, and Tabulation Tool.) DataFerrett helps you locate and retrieve the data you need regardless of where the data resides. You can develop and customize tables and select the results to create a graph or map for a visual depiction of your data.

Market & Marketing Research

APA PsycINFO
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Business Market Research Collection
Covers: 1986-. Offers company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots. A part of the ProQuest Central database.
Mintel Reports: Academic Edition
Covers: current. Provides detailed reports on marketing, advertising, product category trends, and consumer attitudes, as well as financial and company data, including recent mergers and acquisitions.
MRI-Simmons Insights
Covers: current 3 years. Provides information about consumer purchases of brands, product types, and media consumption. The data is drawn from MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, which focuses on demographic, product and media data.
Sage Data
Covers: 2010- . Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 52 billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data-Planet repository.
Capital IQ NetAdvantage
Covers: Current. Provides detailed descriptions of companies and industries as well as market research data and forecasts from CFRA and Standard & Poor's financial publications in one convenient location. Company information includes a description of the company, stocks & bond issues, earnings estimates, dividend and split history and more. Look under Industries for The Industry Surveys, covering industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
WARC
World Advertising Research Center. Covers: current. Offers marketing research, including branding, start-ups, consumer attention, neuromarketing, packaging, experiential marketing, cultural insights, global, non-profits, and more. Note that the UofA only has access to certain segments of WARC, including Strategy and case studies, Digital Commerce, and some rankings and surveys.
Please note that deep links to specific studies work on campus or through the campus VPN.

Provided to campus through the support of the Walton College of Business.

Census Business Builder (CBB)
"The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format." (census.gov)
Consumer Expenditure Survey
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files." (bls.gov)

Mintel Reports: Academic Edition
Covers: current. Provides detailed reports on marketing, advertising, product category trends, and consumer attitudes, as well as financial and company data, including recent mergers and acquisitions.
MRI-Simmons Insights
Covers: current 3 years. Provides information about consumer purchases of brands, product types, and media consumption. The data is drawn from MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, which focuses on demographic, product and media data.

City-Data
City- Data has a variety of business,market, and economic data.
State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)
SOCDS offers data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs: demographic & economic characteristics of the population; current employment statistics for city residents; jobs, business establishments & average pay since the 1990s; data on violent & property crime rates collected by the FBI; local building permits; city & suburban government finances; Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy (CHAS) data.
American Fact Finder: Advanced Search (Census Bureau)
A different method to find the same data. Add Arkansas to the search. Then use the topic selection to choose which tables you want to see.
Data USA
Designed to highlight Fayetteville, AR this database provides visualization tools to gather government data.

Consumers participate in the market with every purchase made. Check out the following resources to help understand the levels of participation.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Covers: Current; many reports cover last 5 years. Morningstar tracks more than 20,000 stocks and funds, providing tools such as price history, indexes, ratios, and more.
Valueline Investment Survey Standard Edition
Covers: Current 12 months. Provides analysis of some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise commentary on current operations and future prospects. PDF reports are issued quarterly for each stock. Only certain areas of the ValueLine site are included in the Libraries' subscription; we do not currently have access to the Mutual Funds, Convertibles, or Exchange Traded areas.

EDGAR Database
Search for U.S. companies & their filings, as well as mutual funds & prospectuses.
Consumer Price Index
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Sector Inflation - Producer Price Index
A product of the Bureau of Labor Statistics, PPI measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.

Survey Tools

Qualtrics
Qualtrics is a survey software which allow users to online data collection through a variety of methods.
Survey Monkey
Survey Monkey is a free survey software tool that allows you to create and publish online surveys and questionnaires.
Google Forms - create and analyze surveys.
Google Forums is a free resource that allows users to create surveys and analyze results.
Human Terrain
Visualizing the world's population in 3D.
U.S. Census Bureau
American Community Survey: Data Tables & Tools

Canva.com
A free resource to create infographic charts and visualization documents.
Microsoft Office: Templates and Themes
Office templates & themes

Excel 2019 - Business Basics and Beyond by Chris Smitty Smith
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781615470617
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Research Data Services offers statistical software support, survey instruments, research database support, and one-on-one consultation and assistance with research methods and analysis.

Journals on Consumers

The items offer information specific to consumer research and are available through your library. Once you access the link, select from the View Online options and access the version that best suites your needs.

Consumer Reports
Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers.
Advertising Age
Advertising Age contains special reports on the buying habits of Americans and other consumer-related marketing issues.
Journal of Consumer Research
An interdisciplinary journal focusing on all aspects of consumer education.
Journal of Consumer Psychology
The Journal of Consumer Psychology (JCP) publishes top-quality research articles that contribute both theoretically and empirically to our understanding of the psychology of consumer behavior.

Journals on Psychographic

The links below will take you to journals available through your library concerning psychographic. Psychographic refers to the study of life styles of consumers and how this relates to consumer behavior. Once you access the link, select from the View Online options and access the version that best suites your needs.

Journal of Consumer Satisfaction, Dissatisfaction & Complaining Behavior
An academic, double-blind journal containing articles on consumer satisfaction, dissatisfaction, complaining & complimenting behavior.
Review of Economics of the Household
The Review of Economics of the Household publishes empirical and theoretical research on the economic behavior and decision-making processes of single and multi-person households.
Consumer Behavior
Sales & Marketing
Consumer Reports Buying Guide (1991-present)
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.