Research Guides: Folklore and Contagion: Legends and Vernacular Risk Perception: Finding Folklore Articles

Professor of Practice / Director of Arkansas Folk and Traditional Arts

Virginia Siegel

Email Me

Contact:

479-575-7115

Subjects: Folklore

Use Find It! to Locate Full Text

What to do when there is no full text online?

Look for the Find it! link that will allow you to search for the full text of your article across all the UofA databases.
Check OneSearch under the name of the journal or periodical containing the article.

If the Libraries don't own the journal or issue with your citation, you can request the article on ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan
To learn more about interlibrary loan visit this page.

Finding and Assessing Folklore Texts

For advice on choosing keywords and assessing folklore texts, refer back to the Finding Folklore Books page.

Popular Journals for Folklore and Folklife

These journals are those most commonly published or cited by folklore scholars. Several journals are no longer active, but have back issues available with useful research.

Folk Life
Folklore (Formerly the Folk-Lore Journal; Folk-Lore Record)
Journal of American Folklore
Journal of Folklore and Education (free online)
Journal of Folklore Research
Journal of Folklore Research Reviews (free online)
Journal of Popular Culture
Material Culture
Mississippi Folklife (free online)
New Directions in Folklore
- Recent issues
- Back issues
Buildings and Landscapes (Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture)
Southern Folklore/Southern Folklore Quarterly
Western Folklore
Winterthur Portfolio

For journals that are not free online, many can be found most readily through the following databases available through University of Arkansas Libraries:

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1900-. A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. ThIncludes citations to essays, books, and articles in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800s-. A collection of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue. Note that most titles in these archival collections are only digitized after a three-to-five-year time lag so that recent issues are not always available through JSTOR.
JSTOR now includes ebooks, images, and primary sources as well as journals.
Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1906-. A collection of online journals in the humanities and social sciences. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and more. The Libraries do not have access to most Muse book content.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offering scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspapers, and other types of publications, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of ProQuest's most highly used databases. Includes scholarly journal articles, newspapers and trade magazines, books, and books.