Best Bets
Databases -- These tools help to identify articles from journals and presentations from conferences that might be of interest. They improve on Google and Google Scholar searching in the comprehensiveness of the search pool and as they allow modification of searches and use a controlled vocabulary.
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1884-. Indexes journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, and selected technical reports and books in all engineering disciplines as well as related fields in the sciences and management. On the Engineering Village platform. - INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1898-. A comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology. - ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. - MathSciNet (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1940-. This database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offers evaluative reviews and abstracts of international research literature in mathematics, computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applied mathematics. - IEEE Xplore (IEEE and IET Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. The full-text database of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) publications, including publications from predecessors such as IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers); IRE (Institute of Radio Engineers); and AIAA (American Institute of Electrical Engineers). - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
