The entry page to ScholarWorks provides you with several browsing options as well as the ability to perform a word search. This search will be conducted throughout ALL collections within ScholarWorks.  The dropdown menu automatically defaults to "in this repository" and will search across all collections within the University of Arkansas libraries repository.  This is your broadest search and is not recommended for known person or known item searches.

BEWARE: Changing the dropdown menu to "search all repositories" will search collections from any institution that subscribes to the Digital Commons platform for their institutional repository.

It is recommended that, whenever possible,  you limit your keyword searching for known items (a specific author or title) to specific sub-collections within ScholarWorks. To do this:

1. Navigate to the appropriate subcollection using the buttons on the homepage.

2. If you know a further sub-unit such as a department name or a collection such as graduate theses and dissertations, navigate to that subcollection.

3. Perform your search in that collection. The search box will default to "in this collection" .  If you are unsuccessful in finding your item, you can reselect the search to encompass all works "in this repository."  Note that searching "across all repositories" will included materials that are not just from the University of Arkansas.

For your most precise search of ScholarWorks, use the advanced search feature.  This can be done on the homepage or within sub-collections.

For best results: Navigate to a sub-collection of your choice as described above and then perform your search.

The advanced search provides several means for honing your search such as the ability to search within the abstract, subject, author's name, title, and document type.  You may also limit to your sub-collection and date range.