This book describes the structural and functional asymmetries in human body movement by providing cases and examples using illustrations and easy-to-understand scenarios. More than just a scientific book, it bridges the gap between theory and practice, and includes practical examples and applications. The book appeals to academics and practitioners in the fields of kinesiology, human movement, sports sciences, strength and conditioning, and physiotherapy.

Integrated coverage of the full clinical exercise curriculum, including: Pathophysiology of exercise and disease Exercise as a clinical intervention Exercise, nutrition, and lifestyle Health behaviour change Clinical skills in exercise science The book covers a wide range of conditions, including cardiovascular disease, pulmonary disease, metabolic disease and mental health problems.

Comparative Kinesiology of the Human Body: Normal and Pathological Conditions covers changes in musculoskeletal, neurological and cardiopulmonary systems that, when combined, are the three pillars of human movement. It examines the causes, processes, consequences and contexts of physical activity from different perspectives and life stages, from early childhood to the elderly. The book explains how purposeful movement of the human body is affected by pathological conditions related to any of these major systems. Coverage also includes external and internal factors that affect human growth patterns and development throughout the lifespan (embryo, child, adult and geriatrics). This book is the perfect reference for researchers in kinesiology, but it is also ideal for clinicians and students involved in rehabilitation practice.

Introduces the history, key lines of inquiry relating to both health and performance, technology, certifications, professional associations, and career opportunities associated with each area.

Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications offers the most accessible, student-friendly introduction to the principles and practice of measurement in physical activity available. Fully revised and updated, the second edition provides students with a clear guide to the obstacles to good measurement, and how to apply the principles of good measurement to a range of physical activity disciplines.

Provides upper-level students and early-career academics with an essential resource to aid in disseminating research and publishing their first papers. Logically structured to take researchers through each step of the publishing process, the book offers subject-specific advice on developing every aspect of theoretical, applied, or position papers, including: * the title, abstract and keywords * method, results, and discussion sections * referencing * finding the right journal and submitting a paper * revising content in light of peer review * presenting papers.