Research Guides: Exercise Science: Articles &amp; Databases

Help with Searching

Created by our librarians, these guides provide specific advice for searching in the Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database, Medline, PubMed, and the Web of Science Core Collection database.

CINAHL and other Nursing Sources
by Norma Johnson Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 3006 views this year

Getting Better Results with MedLine
by Ellen Urton Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 167 views this year

Getting Better Results with PubMed
by Ellen Urton Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 951 views this year

Getting Better Results with Web of Science
by Ellen Urton Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 1204 views this year

Library Database Subscriptions

The University Libraries subscribe to databases that include primary and secondary sources.

The first link connects to the full listing of over 400 databases listed on our directory of database subscriptions and the second link provides a list specific to databases most commonly utilized in health and medical research.

Databases by Title and Subject
The full listing of the University Libraries database subscriptions.
Databases by Title and Subject: Medicine
List of the eleven (10) database subscriptions most commonly utilized to discover health and medical research.

Recommended Databases: Health Sciences

The following database subscriptions are recommended for discovering articles published within the field of exercise science with an emphasis on health and medicine.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1937-.A comprehensive source for nursing and related fields, covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL also indexes books and dissertations."
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1989-. Provides access to full text consumer health periodicals.
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers the full collection of e-journals e-books, and videos on human performance, physical and sports education, kinesiology, and sports medicine.
MEDLINE Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1950-. A comprehensive index from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, covering journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Includes all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration. MEDLINE is a part of the National Library of Medicine's PubMed information suite.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1950-. A service of the National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of human and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology, pathology, public health, and health services administration.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of nursing and medical texts from Rittenhouse and other publishers. Search by keyword in text or browse by topic or medication/drug. The UofA Libraries have purchased selected titles on this platform.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1985-. Provides indexing of journals and popular magazines in the fields of sports and sports medicine, with full text for some titles. Produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) in Ottawa.

Recommended Databases: Related Disciplines

The following database subscriptions are recommended for discovering articles published within fields related to exercise science.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
New! Includes selected case studies and Harvard Business Review Ebooks!
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1962- (some historical series are older). The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. The ICPSR archive offers a large number of data sets on social attitudes, opinions, and behaviors, as well as census and other statistical sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offering scholarly journal and magazine articles, newspapers, and other types of publications, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of ProQuest's most highly used databases. Includes scholarly journal articles, newspapers and trade magazines, books, and books.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1995-. New: Expanded access to more than 2000 titles from Elsevier, Academic Press, and related publishers. Does not include the most recent issues from some special publishers such as Cell Press.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1952-. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

Theses & Dissertations

ScholarWorks@UARK includes Uark dissertations and theses as well as publications by Uark researchers. The additional database subscriptions help you to discover and access dissertations and theses produces in institutes of higher education from across the country and the world.

ScholarWorks@UARK
ScholarWorks@UARK highlights a growing collection of faculty publications, presentations, student work and teaching materials. The University of Arkansas is committed to disseminating its research and scholarship as widely as possible. We welcome you to contribute your own work. For more information please contact scholar@uark.edu

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.