Research Guides: HIST 5023: Historical Methods: Finding Articles

Search JSTOR for Articles

Quick History Search

Article Indexes and Collections: The Essentials

America History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1963-. A comprehensive source for U.S. and Canadian political, social, diplomatic, and economic history. Indexes and abstracts journal articles as well as books, book reviews, theses, and dissertations.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mainly 1955-.This companion database to America: History and Life indexes articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on history outside of North America from 1450 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800s-. A collection of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue. Note that most titles in these archival collections are only digitized after a three-to-five-year time lag so that recent issues are not always available through JSTOR.
JSTOR now includes ebooks, images, and primary sources as well as journals.
Index Arkansas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: dates of coverage vary by title. Indexes periodical and newspaper articles and book chapters on Arkansas topics. In some cases, journals are indexed back to the first date of issue through current.

Article Indexes and Collections: Specialized

L'Année Philologique (Brepols) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1924/25- .Indexes citations to journal articles, books, book collections, book reviews, dissertations, conference proceedings, and other publications about the ancient Greek and Roman worlds. L'Annee is comprehensive in scope, indexing works in many languages. It covers literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, and all other aspects of the ancient Mediterranean.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1967-. Indexes books, articles, book chapters, and other publications on the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1900-. A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. ThIncludes citations to essays, books, and articles in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related areas.
ATLA Religion Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1949- (selected indexing to the 19th century). Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), Religion Index includes citations to articles, book reviews, and book chapters from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of open access and subscription journals, books from the WorldCat database, conference papers and proceedings, white papers, and other academic materials posted on the Web. Google Scholar is not as comprehensive as many subject databases, but it is useful in that it provides one handy place to search across many different disciplines and subject areas.
How to configure Google Scholar to work with Find it!
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1945-. Indexes high-impact journals in all disciplines. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track citations, and to find articles that share many references in common.
Use the "Editions" drop down to limit your search to arts and humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

Use Find It! to Locate Full Text

What to do when there is no full text online?

Look for the Find it! link that will allow you to search for the full text of your article across all the UofA databases.
Check OneSearch under the name of the journal or periodical containing the article.

If the Libraries don't own the journal or issue with your citation, you can request the article on ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan
To learn more about interlibrary loan visit this page.

Article Finder

Try Article Finder

Article Finder allows you to query Find it! to see if the full-text of a journal article is available online.

The more information you can provide, the better the chance that Find it! will locate a match.