Newspapers

How to find current and historical newspapers at the Libraries and beyond.

New and Noteworthy: British Library Newspapers Part 1: 1800-1900

The Libraries have recently purchased British Library Newspapers Part 1: 1800-1900.  This collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Titles include the Pall Mall Gazette (London), the Birmingham Daily Post, teh Manchester Times, the Western Mail (Cardiff), the Glasgow Herald, and the Freeman's Journal (Dublin).

New and Noteworthy: Europeana Full Text Newspapers

Europeana LogoEuropeana Collections provide a gateway to digitized manuscripts, books, images, periodicals, videos and more from all over the EU. 

The Europeana Research site collects proof-of-concept and pilot projects to etend Europeana materials.  Using the newspapers filter, you can browse newspaper archives such as Italian papers from WWI, Welsh newspapers online, and full text newspapers from the National Library of Austria. 

New and Noteworthy: ProQuest Newsstand is now US Newsstream, International Newsstream

US Newsstream offers the full text of more than 1300 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and blogs. It includes important national papers such as:

  • New York Times (1980-)
  • Boston Globe (1997-)
  • Chicago Tribune (1996-)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985-)
  • Washington Post (1987-),
  • Wall Street Journal (1984-)

A part of ProQuest Central, this database is a great place to start when you need recent news coverage from a variety of editorial sources. 

International Newsstream offers the full text of more than 1000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and blogs published outside the U.S. and Canada, including the Guardian (1996-),  the Irish Times (1995-), the Jerusalem Post (1988-), and the Times (London,2011-). 

Canadian Newsstream offers the full text of more than 100 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and blogs. Includes the Globe and Mail (Toronto, 1977-), the Ottowa Citizen (1985-), and the Vancouver Sun (1987-). 

New and Noteworthy: African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers BannerCheck out this blog post on 365 McIlroy for information on African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998, which offers full text from more than 270 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

New and Noteworthy: Chronicling America at 10 Million Pages

Chronicling America, the Library of Congress collection of digitized newspapers covering 1836-1922, just reached the 10 million page mark.  At more than 74 terabytes of total data - from more than 1,900 newspapers in 38 states and territories and the District of Columbia - Chronicling America is one of our nation's Internet treasures. 

You can search across the entire database for keywords or browse papers by time period or geographic location.  One of our favorite features is a daily roundup of newspaper coverage from 100 years ago.  Another way to explore the content are topic guides for themes such as Edison, Esperanto, Flappers, or the Ouija Board.  But you don't need magical powers to locate historical papers of interest in this amazing collection. 

Chronicling America Web Page

New and Noteworthy: Independent Voices

 

New Find a Topic Feature

America’s News is  the place to find current newspaper articles from the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, the Times Record (Fort Smith),  the Jonesboro Sun, the El Dorado News-Times and more than 2,000 other local, regional, and national U.S. news sources.  With news sources from 55 states and territories, you can quickly find local coverage of current events and opinion nationwide. While there is some coverage back to 1978, most papers date from the late 1990s.

You can search America’s News by keyword across the database, by keyword or phrase in specific fields such as headlines or bylines, by state or city, and by time period.  A new feature, Find a Topic, allows students to navigate from broad subject areas such as “Criminal Justice” or “Environmental Studies” to subdivisions of those topics to specific articles on those themes.  These predefined searches are a great way for students to explore a subject area  before committing to a specific paper or speech topic.

America's News from NewsBank

Welcome

Ask a Librarian

This guide is designed to help you find current and historical newspapers and newspaper articles.  

Need help along the way? Ask Us!

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656