Ledger book contains material copied ca 1920 from various Confederate sources pertaining to Civil War events in and around Camden, Arkansas, including obituaries, biographical sketches, speeches, cemetery lists, and social notes. Some entries describe battles at Jenkins Ferry, Prairie Grove, Mansfield, Pleasant Hill, Vicksburg.
The collection includes letters to Margaret Watson Elder from her husband Capt. Jacob Elder, USA, written from camp while he was serving with the 2nd Arkansas Colored Infantry, and a letter from the nurse who attended Capt. Elder at his death in a military hospital in Memphis. Added is a fragment of a biographical note by the Elders' daughter Jane Elizabeth.
Four manuscript letters and a report written by Dr. Ira Russell and his son, Fred Russell. Dr. Ira Russell (1815-1888) was a Union army physician stationed in Fayetteville (Washington County) in late 1862 and early 1863. A New Hampshire native, Russell received his education at Dartmouth and the University of New York, graduating with an M.D. from the latter in 1844. In 1861 Russell was commissioned surgeon of the Eleventh Massachusetts Infantry but was eventually assigned duty west of the Mississippi, first at St. Louis, and later, in December 1862, at Fayetteville, where he assumed the directorship of the hospitals of the Army of the Frontier following the battle of Prairie Grove (Washington County).
The Butlers were a prominent family of Tulip, Arkansas, where father Alexander Butler (1807-1881) ran a mercantile operation assisted by his eldest son Henry. When the Civil War broke out, Henry and three of his brothers enlisted in the Third Arkansas Infantry, the only Confederate regiment from the state to serve entirely in the eastern theater of the war. Many of Henry's wartime letters describe camp conditions and military movements, although most are devoted to family news and courtship.
This collection consists of a diary written by Albert P. Stair from 1861 to 1884. The first part of the diary pertains to his family, military service during the Civil War, and his life after the war. The second portion of the diary was used as an expense ledger.
Purchase record and accounts payable ledger of the Arkansas Military Board, Oct. 30, 1861-Jan. 3, 1862. Initials "H.M.R." [probably for Governor Henry Massie Rector, a board member] appear on some pages.
The collection consist of letters written by Drury Connally to his wife, Ann Kilgore Connally in Sulphur Springs. These letters pertain to his activities as a member of Johnson's Texas Spy Company in Arkansas and Tennessee, particularly his campaign around east Arkansas and Chickamauga and Chattanooga, Tennessee, guerilla warfare, civilian life, and various Civil War military engagements.
The first journal in this collection spans the period June 1859 through early August 1864 and gives an account of the hardships endured by foot soldiers during the Civil War, detailing battles in the Mississippi River Valley including Fredricktown, Corinth, Iuka, Island Number Ten, and Vicksburg. The second journal gives an account dating from mid-August 1864 through December 1868.
The Nathan Strong family papers consist of letters written by Strong family members and acquaintances, including wartime letters written by Wesley Strong from Virginia and Mississippi during 1861 and 1862. An additional Civil War letter written to James Prior of Tulip, Arkansas, from Captain George Alexander of the Third Arkansas Infantry in 1861 is also among the Civil War letters.
This collection includes a subseries of Civil War papers. Materials include a travel pass issued to Lafayette Gregg to visit Governor Harris Flanagin in May, 1863; medical deferment issued to Lafayette Gregg in January, 1863; military orders issued to Lafayette Gregg from headquarters, Post of Little Rock, April 25, 1865; appointment approval for officers of the Fourth Arkansas Cavalry issued by the War Department, Washington, D.C., March 16, 1865; honorable discharge issued to Lafayette Gregg on June 30, 1865.
Among the many relief efforts after the 1929 Depression, WPA Federal Writers' Project workers interviewed everyday people with the aim of publishing anthologies on different aspects of life in America. Two hundred and thirty-three persons were interviewed in Arkansas under this program. The originals of questionnaires used to record information during the interviews are preserved in the University Libraries' Special Collections.