The Children's Collection supports the learning, research, and teaching needs of the faculty and students of the College of Education and Health Professions.
The Children’s Literature Collection makes readily available for inspection, evaluation, and use literature of the highest quality produced for use with children from preschool through grade twelve. The goal of the Children’s Literature Collection is to provide access to contemporary educational resources that support course offerings in the College of Education as well as to foster innovation and change in the field of education.
The collection contains juvenile literature appropriate for teaching early childhood to grade 12. Materials that support all subject areas taught in early childhood to grade 12 curriculum are collected for the curriculum, which includes language arts, fine arts, health, physical education social studies, mathematics, and sciences. Materials that support career and technical education, special education, and English language learning are also purchased.
Subject areas relevant to early childhood to grade 12 students outside of state curriculum frameworks are also collected. Examples include mental health, hobbies and recreation, nutrition, career planning, etc. Additionally, the collection continually strives to favorably reﬂect our society of multiple ethnic, racial, religious, social and sexual characteristics. Materials are selected that represent a variety of economic and geographic orientations, as well as the problems, aspirations, attitudes, and ideals of our society.
Please note: we are temporarily not accepting gift-in-kind donations until the summer 2024 completion of the Mullins Library renovation.
As part of our on-going efforts to provide high-quality contemporary juvenile literature, the Children's Literature Collection actively collects titles receiving a number of awards, including the following:
Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award
Arkansas Teen Book Award
Arkansas Teen Book Award Home Page
American Indian Youth Literature Award
American Indian Youth Literature Award Home Page
Asian Pacific American Award
Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Home Page
Caldecott Medal and Honors
Caldecott Medal Award Home Page
Charlie May Simon Award
Charlie May Simon Book Award Home Page
Charlotte Zolotow Award
Charlotte Zolotow Award Home Page
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Dolly Gray Award
Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award Home Page
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Theodor Geisel Award
Theodor Geisel Award Home Page
Newbery Medal and Honor
Newberry Medal Award Home Page
NCTE Orbis Pictis Award
NCTE Orbis Pictis Award Home Page
Michael L. Printz Award Home Page
Pura Belpré Award
Robert F. Sibert Award
Robert F. Sibert Award Home Page
Schneider Family Book Award
Schneider Family Book Award Home Page
Stonewall Book Awards
Stonewall Book Award Home Page
Tomás Rivera Award