Research Guides: Education and Adult Learning Graduate Cohorts: Getting Started

Education Librarian

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mullins Library
MULN 419

(479) 575-4937

Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Counselor Education, Education, Education Reform, Human Resource Development, Indigenous Studies, Occupational Therapy

Chat with Us

Introduction

Welcome!

This guide will introduce you to library resources and services that will help you complete your graduate course work, thesis, or capstone project. It includes links to resources, as well as tutorials and graphic guides that will assist you with learning to use the recommended tools and resources.

If you need further assistance please contact the Interim Education Librarian. For more immediate needs, chat with a librarian online or call the Mullins Library Research Assistance desk using the Ask Us link below.

Ask Us
Our chat service, list of FAQ's, and the many ways to contact the Mullins' Help Desk are listed on the University Libraries Ask Us page.
Library Hours
The Library Hours page includes hours for all of our library locations (Mullins and branch libraries), as well as information on some of our unique collections and services.
My Library Account
To view your library account, login with your Uark credentials.
Rooms in Mullins Library
Our study and collaboration spaces remain open on levels 3 and 4 of Mullins Library during Phase II of the renovation. This page provides an overview of the spaces available for reservation including: flex-space rooms, the family study space, the graduate and faculty reading room and faculty carrels.
Schedule a Research Consultation
We meet with everybody! Librarians are available to meet with anyone regarding their information and research needs. Feel free to contact a librarian directly or schedule a library consultation using this brief form.
Virtual Services
Our University Libraries provide resources, services, and expert help online.

Related Guides

Additional online library guides to support your research:

Distance Education and Online Learning
by Lora Lennertz Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 769 views this year

Finding and Using E-books
by Beth Juhl Last Updated Nov 18, 2024 2087 views this year

Literature Reviews
by Ellen Urton Last Updated Nov 1, 2024 3861 views this year

Core Education Resources

ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1966-. Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC indexes two different kinds of publication: journal articles and ERIC Documents or reports.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: mostly 2000-. Sponsored by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education; provides access to all recent AACE journals and conference proceedings; older material is being added.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1930s-. Designed for professional educators, this database provides full text from education journals as well as educational reports.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1887-. Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Indexes journals, as well as books, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials.
Try out the new Ebsco interface

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text electronic books in three categories:
those purchased by your UA librarians,
subscribed titles from the large Academic Complete collection,
and subscribed titles from the Arkansas State Library Traveler program, including College Complete, Schools and Educators Complete, and Public Library Complete.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text electronic books purchased by the University Libraries.
Try out the new Ebsco interface
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable library of electronic reference books.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.
CLCD QuickFind K-12 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering children's literature from pre-K to young adult, CLCD provides professional reviews from journals and magazines, as well as information from national and international Y/A and children's book awards. Search by keyword, author or illustrator, genre, reading level, age, or lexile group, and more. Create a personal login to save search strategies and titles.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s- with some earlier documents. A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. Record date back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1900- .Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) collection of foreign theses and dissertations. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).Search by author, translated title, institution, country, year, or subject keyword. The University of Arkansas is a member of CRL and researchers can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.

Children's Literature Book Awards

ALA Newbery Medal Winners
The American Library Association publishes lists of current award-winning titles. The John Newbery medal is given to "the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." Our library owns these titles and keeps a copy of each on reserve.
ALA Caldecott Medal Winners
The American Library Association publishes a list for the Randolph Caldecott Medal winners, which include works by the "artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children," each year. Our library maintains copies of each medal winner.
ALA Coretta Scott King Medal Winners
The Coretta Scott King Medal award is given to "outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience." The ALA publishes a list of these winners and our library maintains a copy of each.

Lesson Plans, Projects, and Activities

Discovery Education
Free classroom tools are available. A library of lesson plans can be searched by subject or grade level.
Education World
This site includes a searchable database of educational links.
Edutopia
Resources for teachers including information about new media tools, videos from innovators in education, blog posts about current issues in education, and core concepts in education.
Gateway to Educational Materials
This site provides access to lesson plans, curriculum units, and other education resources on the Internet.
Global SchoolNet
This site has projects and links for kids, parents, and teachers around the world.
Smithsonian Education
Resources and lesson plans are available for the subject areas of art and design, science and technology, history and culture, and language arts.
What Works Clearinghouse
Evidence for What Works in Education
We review the research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.
Then, by focusing on the results from high-quality research, we try to answer the question “What works in education?”
Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions.

Professional Organizations

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
"Founded in 1920, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) is the world's largest mathematics education organization, with 60,000 members and more than 230 Affiliates throughout the United States and Canada."
International Literacy Association
"The International Literacy Association (ILA) is a global advocacy and membership organization of more than 300,000 literacy educators, researchers, and experts across 78 countries."
National Council of Teachers of English
"For more than 100 years, NCTE has worked with its members to offer journals, publications, and resources; to further the voice and expertise of educators as advocates for their students at the local and federal levels; and to share lesson ideas, research, and teaching strategies through its Annual Convention and other professional learning events."
National Science Teachers Association
"The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. NSTA's current membership of 55,000 includes science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, and others involved in and committed to science education."

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A general student encyclopedia.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1984-. Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS provides full text from popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1989-. Contains full text for popular, middle school magazines.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1989-. Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for popular, elementary school magazines.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Offers learning modules, videos, sample experiments, biographical profiles, and diagrams to aid in understanding scientific concepts, methods, and discoveries. Aimed at the general reader and college student.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Offers reports of current scientific advances, organized by topic, with interviews of scientists, video news briefs, and tools for educators such as a glossary, crossword puzzles, and curricular materials. Aimed at high school and college students.