Research Guides: Faculty Guide: University Libraries Introduction: Asynchronous Library Resources

Learning Outside the Library

Information Literacy

“Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning”

Association of College & Research Libraries, Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (2018)

Asynchronous Learning

"Asynchronous learning (derived from the Greek language Asyn meaning “not with” and Chronos meaning “time”) occurs in online educational environments as a means for teacher and student interactions of intermittent communication. Asynchronous learning is time delayed and allows flexibility so that student participants in an online classroom need not engage in a discussion at the same time."

Carr, V.B. (2012). Asynchronous Learning. In: Seel, N.M. (eds) Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning. Springer, Boston, MA. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4419-1428-6_984

Benefits of Asynchronous Learning

Asynchronous learning:

Can address gaps in student knowledge and skills.
Is not constrained by time and place.
Leverages existing library resources.
Meets students at the point of need.

Why use asynchronous library resources?

Lessons can be deployed at relevant points in the semester instead of all at once in one in-person class.
ALL students can receive the same level of library instruction.
All the content students need cannot successfully be delivered in a 50 minute lesson.
Students can utilize resources along-side their projects for real-time understanding of application.

Asynchronous Resources Provided by University Libraries

Information Literacy Tutorials

Information literacy and asynchronous learning best practices back tutorials created specifically for UA students. They are designed to provide flexible learning at the student's pace and can be embedded in Blackboard.

Contact Kim Larsen, Undergraduate Engagement Librarian, to get access to the Information Literacy tutorials.

Research Guides

Research guides, sometimes called LibGuides, are curated web pages created by librarians on various topics and subjects. You can view the Libraries' guides sorted by subject, type, and author or browse through all the guides available from the University Libraries.

Resource Spotlight

Video Databases

Academic Video Online: AVON
A multidisciplinary video collection. Topics covered include Architecture, Art, Business, Counseling and therapy, Dance, Economics, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Health, History, Humanities, Law and public safety, LGBT studies, Literature, Opera, Philosophy,Political science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theater, and Women's studies. Video types include newsreels, field recordings, demonstrations of specific techniques, archival footage, interviews, and documentaries.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Offers videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
Human Kinetics Library
Offers the full collection of e-journals e-books, and videos on human performance, physical and sports education, kinesiology, and sports medicine.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Covers: 2006-. JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. JoVE Education provides video demonstrations of concepts and methods in biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering, physics, and psychology as well as lab manuals with step-by-step instructions. JoVE Research provides videos of research results in biology, chemistry, engineering, medicine, psychology, and related fields.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Offers thousands of videos including theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema. Films are licensed for academic use. Not all videos are available for instant viewing. In some cases you will be asked to complete a contact form to request that the Libraries purchase a 12 or 36 month lease before you are able to view the video. Read more about Kanopy requesting.
Medici.tv
Offers video recordings of symphonic and chamber performances, opera, ballet, and some documentaries on performing artists. Includes video master classes with musicians and conductors.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access
Covers: 1935-. Stream full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, with recent HD video performances as well as classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s, and 90s and audio from radio broadcasts back to 1935.
Psychotherapy.net
Offers videos on different interviewing and therapeutic techniques.
Sage Video
Provides videos covering key concepts, case studies, interviews, and in-practice sessions or demonstrations. In 11 topics areas including Business and Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Media, Communication, & Cultural Studies, Nursing, Political Science & International Relations, Social Work, and Sociology.
Some videos provide Assessment Questions for instructor use. For account authorization of instructor Assessment Questions, please contact libweb@uark.edu for approval.

Digital Primary Source Collections

AM Explorer
Search across millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. Collections cover topics as far-ranging at the Age of Exploration, Fashion, American Indian Newspapers, the First and Second World Wars, Children's Literature and Culture, Central Asia, China and East Asia, Colonialism and the British Empire, Gender Studies, Consumer and Popular Culture, and World's Fairs. Offers many documents sourced from the British National Archives and other repositories.
Arkansas Agricultural Publications Archive
Covers 1910s-. Collections digitized by the University Libraries.
Artstor - now part of JSTOR
Now a part of Images on JSTOR, Artstor images are contributed by museums, libraries, and universities worldwide and are intended for educational use.
Digital Collections (University of Arkansas)
Overs thousands of documents, images, sound files, and more from our collections. Organized by project, such as U of A Yearbooks, the Arkansas Traveler, Agricultural Extension, or Fayetteville and campus history.
JSTOR
A collection of 1) core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics and 2) ebooks, images, and primary sources. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue.
Note that recent journal issues are not always available through JSTOR as some titles have a 3-5 year embargo on current years.
Many images in JSTOR were inherited from the former Artstor database.

Newspapers
View the Libraries' research guide for both current and historical newspapers.

Business Resources

Sage Business Cases
Covers: 2006-. Offers business and organization case studies drown from providers such as the Institute of Management Accountants, , the Society for Case research, the Kellogg School of Management, and NPR Planet Money. Addressing topics such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, these cases often include supplemental materials and teaching notes for authorized users.
For account authorization of instructor Teaching Notes, please contact libweb@uark.edu for approval.
Sage Business Skills
Offers tutorials and guidance on business skills to transition from campus to a professional setting, including topics such as business communication, leadership, and organizational dynamics.

Additional Resources

Access Engineering
Online engineering reference containing full-text handbooks, as well as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Access Science
Covers: current. The online successor to McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, illustrations and related links.
CHEMnetBASE Databases
A collection of reference works for chemistry, including:
Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD), The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, and more.
Invasive Species Compendium
An open access reference work, designed to support the work of everyone faced with the identification, prevention and management of invasive species around the world. Search or filter by distribution, organism type, habitat, risk factors, and more.
PrepSTEP for Colleges (Formerly Learning Express Library)
Offers test preparation tools for GRE®, GMAT®, LSAT®, MCAT®, and more. Includes tutorials and core skills for Math, English, and College Success.
Pronunciator
A language learning platform with step-by-step lesson plans for more than 300 languages including American Sign Language. Offers classes for adults and children.
Pronunciator is recommended for users who need a comprehensive, in-depth, and interactive learning experience with access to a broad range of languages and interactive tools that are ideal for structured, desktop-based learning.
Pronunciator also offers the Bluebird Languages app. Bluebird Languages is ideal for patrons who prioritize mobile access, prefer audio-based learning, and seek quick, practical lessons that can easily fit into a busy lifestyle.
Supported by the Arkansas State Library Traveler Project. This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Available to anyone in Arkansas.