This guide was created by a former librarian and is in the process of being updated. Please contact the current subject librarian assigned to this guide with questions or suggestions.
For books about tests and measures, search in OneSearch. Use words such as "diagnosis," phrases like "psychological tests" or "educational tests and measurements," the subject of a test, like "employee motivation," the name of the test, the author's name, or the specific type of test to find books that discuss them. There are several examples of books in the box below.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online is a directory of tests with overviews, scoring information, time required to take the test, and reviews. Use with Tests in Print and Test Critiques.
This link opens in a new window
"The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) includes timely, consumer-oriented test reviews, providing evaluative information to promote and encourage informed test selection. Typical MMY test entries include descriptive information and one or two reviews written by professionals in selected fields."
"Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Information includes test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Tests in Print also guides readers to candidly critical test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series."
http://www.unl.edu/buros/bimm/html/faq.html#whatismmy, accessed April 20, 2011.
Tests or instruments are either published or unpublished.The Mental Measurements Yearbook, Tests in Print, and Test Critiques, among others, identify and evaluate published tests or measures.
Many published tests are proprietary or confidential; to get them, you must have correct credentials, get permission, and pay for them. You need permission to edit and use an altered version of a test.
SOME articles or dissertations have unpublished tests included with the research. Databases such as PsycINFO and ERIC help you locate these. Social Work Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts may or may not include tests in the articles they cite, and they often describe the tests differently.
These unpublished tests are the intellectual property of the author(s): "Users of unpublished tests have certain ethical responsibilities. Users must (a) contact the test author and request permission to use their test, and (b) secure their permission in writing if the material is copyrighted." http://www.apa.org/science/programs/testing/find-tests.aspx
