HathiTrust collections provide a way to aggregate digital items related to a common theme.
Once items have been added to a collection, the full-text and bibliographic metadata of items can be searched independently of the larger repository. Items in collections can also be quickly copied to new or existing collections.
Creating collections is the starting point for using HathiTrust Research Center to perform text analyses of your chosen items.
You may make a collection of:
a) Catalog records
b) Full-text items
c) Items with records but which are not available for viewing
It is common for text mining to include materials that are available in full-text as well as those that are not available for viewing. Text mining can be performed using both types of titles.
Many collections are already made publicly available by other researchers or institutions. You may also build your own collection.
You can select a public collection to review from Collections on the top menu. Then select the range of public collections you would like to see from Filter Collections on the left sidebar.
Type your search in the Find a collection search box in the middle of the page. Your results will be visible to you in the collections listed below
****** PLEASE remember that collections are created and curated by people like you and me. The fact that a collection is public does not indicate the level of quality.
Creating a new collection is easy! Here are two ways to create a new collection:
2. From the MyCollections link in the top menu bar you will find the same button (Note: I already have already made a collection on poet Robinson Jeffers.
3) You can also create a collection in the midst of a Full Text Search. Select the item you want and open the Collections menu on the left.
When establishing your new collection:
After a collection has been established you can add items into it.
To add items to a collection when using the Full Text Search option:
We do not have an automated process to migrate collections to a different account. Instead, if you only have a handful of collections, you can copy your collections while logged in with your new account. Follow these steps to do so:
The following is the help information from HathiTrust regarding the issue of moving your collections from one account to another on the page at :