Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conducting Research in Special Collections

Scheduling a Visit

Scheduling a research appointment in Special Collections is a two step process.

  1. Email specoll@uark.edu at least three days before your desired visit date to inquire about scheduling an appointment.
  2. Identify the materials you would like to consult and place requests for those items in your Special Collections account.

Note that you are limited to 10 active requests at a time. You may save as many materials to your account for future visits as you like, but you may not be able to consult them all on the same day.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, appointments are limited and restricted to current University of Arkansas faculty, staff, and students. Read more about COVID-19 restrictions and policies at the link below.

Creating a Special Collections Research Account

To request materials to view in the Reading Room or order reproductions, you will first need to create a Special Collections account in Aeon. Aeon is the automated circulation system that special collections uses to manage requests for materials:

  1. To set up your account online, go to: https://uark.aeon.atlas-sys.com/. Once you have a Special Collections account, this page is where you will log in.
  2. If you are a university affiliate, select the Login or Register button below Current Students, Faculty, and Staff. You will log in with your University credentials and be taken directly to a registration form. 
  3. If you are not a university affiliate, click on the red Log In or Register button under Other Users and then create an account by clicking "create an account." 
  4. After you have reviewed policies and procedures related to using Special Collections materials, check the box at the bottom of the page to acknowledge you have read the policies, and then click accept and continue. 
  5. Once you have completed and submitted the registration form, you will receive a confirmation email and be able to request materials to view in the Reading Room and place reproduction orders.

View the video below to see an example of creating a Special Collections account.

Request Limits

Request Limits

You are limited to 10 active requests at a time in your Special Collections account. If you have reached your limit, you can save additional requests for future visits. Access saved requests under "order history" by clicking the "saved requests" drop down menu option. When you have returned previously requested materials processed and completed, you can submit saved requests by checking the box for the saved request you want to submit and clicking "submit information."

Duplication Request Limits

Photocopies (delivered electronically as PDFs) are limited to 300 pages per semester and high resolution scans are limited to 15. For more on Special Collections duplication limits and associated fees, please see our "Duplication Fees and Policies" below.