Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conducting Research in Special Collections

Requesting Published Materials

  1. ​​You can request published materials from the University Libraries online catalog. You can access the library catalog from within Aeon by clicking “New Requests,” and then clicking the “Library Catalog” link under “Books and Published Materials,” or by going directly to the catalog at: https://library.uark.edu/ The catalog includes materials from our rare books collection, artist’s books collection, Arkansas Collection, and select manuscript collections.
  2. From the catalog, search by the title, author or keyword and select the item you are interested in. 
  3. Select the item you are interested in requesting.
  4. To request an item from its catalog record, click the “Special Collections request” button on the right side of the screen.
  5. If you are not already logged in to your Special Collections account, log in when prompted.
  6. Most of the item information will be auto filled for you in the request form, but be sure to review this information. Schedule the date of your visit by clicking on the calendar icon. When you are done entering information, click “submit."

For more guidance, view the video tutorial below.

 

Requesting Manuscript Materials

  1. To search for our manuscript collections, select “Archives” above the search bar on the Special Collections home page. You can also go directly to ArchivesSpace by going to https://uark.as.atlas-sys.com/. If you are already logged in to your Special Collections account, go to the “New Requests page,” and click the “Archives Space” link under “Manuscript materials.”
  2. From the ArchivesSpace landing page, search for the collection you are interested in, or by using a keyword related to your research. Select the record types you would like to search. Next, choose which field to search. If you are only interested in a certain time period, you can enter a date range here. 
  3. This will take you to a list of all collections related to your search terms. Select the collection you are interested in using. In your search results, ArchivesSpace will always display collections before individual archival records. Collections include the box icon with the word “collection” just under the title of our search result.
  4. Select a finding aid from your results by clicking on the title of a record in ArchivesSpace.
  5. Use the sidebar on the right side to explore the boxes and folders within the collection.
  6. To request materials, select a specific folder, and click “Aeon Request” in the right corner.  You must select a folder (not a box) to use the “Aeon Request” button.
  7. Edit your request as necessary. For example, you can edit the folders to reflect a range of folders you plan to view within the same box.Select the date of your visit, and click submit.

For more guidance, view the video tutorial below.