Bayesian Analysis in Natural Language Processing by
Natural language processing (NLP) went through a profound transformation in the mid-1980s when it shifted to make heavy use of corpora and data-driven techniques to analyze language. Since then, the use of statistical techniques in NLP has evolved in several ways. One such example of evolution took place in the late 1990s or early 2000s, when full-fledged Bayesian machinery was introduced to NLP. This Bayesian approach to NLP has come to accommodate for various shortcomings in the frequentist approach and to enrich it, especially in the unsupervised setting, where statistical learning is done without target prediction examples. We cover the methods and algorithms that are needed to fluently read Bayesian learning papers in NLP and to do research in the area. These methods and algorithms are partially borrowed from both machine learning and statistics and are partially developed "in-house" in NLP. We cover inference techniques such as Markov chain Monte Carlo sampling and variational inference, Bayesian estimation, and nonparametric modeling. We also cover fundamental concepts in Bayesian statistics such as prior distributions, conjugacy, and generative modeling. Finally, we cover some of the fundamental modeling techniques in NLP, such as grammar modeling and their use with Bayesian analysis.
Innovative Computing, Optimization and Its Applications by
This book presents the latest research of the field of optimization, modeling and algorithms, discussing the real-world application problems associated with new innovative methodologies. The requirements and demands of problem solving have been increasing exponentially and new computer science and engineering technologies have reduced the scope of data coverage worldwide. The recent advances in information communication technology (ICT) have contributed to reducing the gaps in the coverage of domains around the globe. The book is a valuable reference work for researchers in the fields of computer science and engineering with a particular focus on modeling, simulation and optimization as well as for postgraduates, managers, economists and decision makers
Nearest Neighbor Methods for the Imputation of Missing Values in Low and High-Dimensional Data by
Nowadays, due to the advancement and significantly rapid growth in the technology, the collection of high-dimensional data is no longer a tedious task. Regardless of considerable advances in technology over the last few decades, the analysis of high-dimensional data faces new challenges concerning interpretation and integration. One of the major problems in high-dimensional data is the occurrence of missing values. The problem is in particular hard to handle when the distributional forms of the variables are different or the variables are measured on different measurement scales (e.g. binary, multi-categorical, continuous, etc.). Whatever the reason, missing data may occur in all areas of applied research. The inadequate handling of missing values may lead to biased results and incorrect inference. The standard statistical techniques for analyzing the data require complete cases without any missing observations. The deletion of the cases with missing information to obtain complete data will not only cause the loss of important information but can also affect inferences. In this dissertation, different imputation techniques using nearest neighbors are developed to address the missing data issues in high-dimensional as well as low dimensional data structures
Statistical Modeling and Analysis for Database Marketing by
The second edition of a bestseller, Statistical and Machine-Learning Data Mining: Techniques for Better Predictive Modeling and Analysis of Big Data is still the only book, to date, to distinguish between statistical data mining and machine-learning data mining. The first edition, titled Statistical Modeling and Analysis for Database Marketing: Effective Techniques for Mining Big Data, contained 17 chapters of innovative and practical statistical data mining techniques. In this second edition, renamed to reflect the increased coverage of machine-learning data mining techniques, the author has completely revised, reorganized, and repositioned the original chapters and produced 14 new chapters of creative and useful machine-learning data mining techniques. In sum, the 31 chapters of simple yet insightful quantitative techniques make this book unique in the field of data mining literature. The statistical data mining methods effectively consider big data for identifying structures (variables) with the appropriate predictive power in order to yield reliable and robust large-scale statistical models and analyses. In contrast, the author's own GenIQ Model provides machine-learning solutions to common and virtually unapproachable statistical problems. GenIQ makes this possible ¿ its utilitarian data mining features start where statistical data mining stops. This book contains essays offering detailed background, discussion, and illustration of specific methods for solving the most commonly experienced problems in predictive modeling and analysis of big data. They address each methodology and assign its application to a specific type of problem. To better ground readers, the book provides an in-depth discussion of the basic methodologies of predictive modeling and analysis. While this type of overview has been attempted before, this approach offers a truly nitty-gritty, step-by-step method that both tyros and experts in the field can enjoy playing with.
Understanding Regression Analysis by
Understanding Regression Analysis unifies diverse regression applications including the classical model, ANOVA models, generalized models including Poisson, Negative binomial, logistic, and survival, neural networks, and decision trees under a common umbrella -- namely, the conditional distribution model. It explains why the conditional distribution model is the correct model, and it also explains (proves) why the assumptions of the classical regression model are wrong. Unlike other regression books, this one from the outset takes a realistic approach that all models are just approximations. Hence, the emphasis is to model Nature's processes realistically, rather than to assume (incorrectly) that Nature works in particular, constrained ways. Key features of the book include: Numerous worked examples using the R software Key points and self-study questions displayed "just-in-time" within chapters Simple mathematical explanations ("baby proofs") of key concepts Clear explanations and applications of statistical significance (p-values), incorporating the American Statistical Association guidelines Use of "data-generating process" terminology rather than "population" Random-X framework is assumed throughout (the fixed-X case is presented as a special case of the random-X case) Clear explanations of probabilistic modelling, including likelihood-based methods Use of simulations throughout to explain concepts and to perform data analyses This book has a strong orientation towards science in general, as well as chapter-review and self-study questions, so it can be used as a textbook for research-oriented students in the social, biological and medical, and physical and engineering sciences. As well, its mathematical emphasis makes it ideal for a text in mathematics and statistics courses. With its numerous worked examples, it is also ideally suited to be a reference book for all scientists.