Lora Lennertz - Data Science
Jay McAllister - Biomedical Engineering
Stephanie Pierce - Geosciences and GIS
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Algorithmic and Artificial Intelligence Methods for Protein Bioinformatics by
An in-depth look at the latest research, methods, and applications in the field of protein bioinformatics This book presents the latest developments in protein bioinformatics, introducing for the first time cutting-edge research results alongside novel algorithmic and AI methods for the analysis of protein data. In one complete, self-contained volume, Algorithmic and Artificial Intelligence Methods for Protein Bioinformatics addresses key challenges facing both computer scientists and biologists, arming readers with tools and techniques for analyzing and interpreting protein data and solving a variety of biological problems. Featuring a collection of authoritative articles by leaders in the field, this work focuses on the analysis of protein sequences, structures, and interaction networks using both traditional algorithms and AI methods. It also examines, in great detail, data preparation, simulation, experiments, evaluation methods, and applications. Algorithmic and Artificial Intelligence Methods for Protein Bioinformatics: Highlights protein analysis applications such as protein-related drug activity comparison Incorporates salient case studies illustrating how to apply the methods outlined in the book Tackles the complex relationship between proteins from a systems biology point of view Relates the topic to other emerging technologies such as data mining and visualization Includes many tables and illustrations demonstrating concepts and performance figures Algorithmic and Artificial Intelligence Methods for Protein Bioinformatics is an essential reference for bioinformatics specialists in research and industry, and for anyone wishing to better understand the rich field of protein bioinformatics.
Big Data Analytics in Bioinformatics and Healthcare by
As technology evolves and electronic data becomes more complex, digital medical record management and analysis becomes a challenge. In order to discover patterns and make relevant predictions based on large data sets, researchers and medical professionals must find new methods to analyze and extract relevant health information. Big Data Analytics in Bioinformatics and Healthcare merges the fields of biology, technology, and medicine in order to present a comprehensive study on the emerging information processing applications necessary in the field of electronic medical record management. Complete with interdisciplinary research resources, this publication is an essential reference source for researchers, practitioners, and students interested in the fields of biological computation, database management, and health information technology, with a special focus on the methodologies and tools to manage massive and complex electronic information.
Data Mining for Bioinformatics Applications by
Data Mining for Bioinformatics Applications provides valuable information on the data mining methods have been widely used for solving real bioinformatics problems, including problem definition, data collection, data preprocessing, modeling, and validation. The text uses an example-based method to illustrate how to apply data mining techniques to solve real bioinformatics problems, containing 45 bioinformatics problems that have been investigated in recent research. For each example, the entire data mining process is described, ranging from data preprocessing to modeling and result validation. Provides valuable information on the data mining methods have been widely used for solving real bioinformatics problems Uses an example-based method to illustrate how to apply data mining techniques to solve real bioinformatics problems Contains 45 bioinformatics problems that have been investigated in recent research
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology by
This volume contains the proceedings of the 2017 International Conference on Bioinformatics and Computational Biology (BIOCOMP'17).
Computational Bioengineering and Bioinformatics by
This book explores the latest and most relevant topics in the field of computational bioengineering and bioinformatics, with a particular focus on patient-specific, disease-progression modeling. It covers computational methods for cardiovascular disease prediction, with an emphasis on biomechanics, biomedical decision support systems, data mining, personalized diagnostics, bio-signal processing, protein structure prediction, biomedical image processing, analysis and visualization, and high-performance computing. It also discusses state-of-the-art tools for disease characterization, and recent advances in areas such as biomechanics, cardiovascular engineering, patient-specific modeling, population-based modeling, multiscale modeling, image processing, data mining, biomedical decision-support systems, signal processing, biomaterials and dental biomechanics, tissue and cell engineering, computational chemistry and high-performance computing. As such, it is a valuable resource for researchers, medical and bioengineering students, and medical device and software experts
Networks in Systems Biology by
This book presents a range of current research topics in biological network modeling, as well as its application in studies on human hosts, pathogens, and diseases. Systems biology is a rapidly expanding field that involves the study of biological systems through the mathematical modeling and analysis of large volumes of biological data. Gathering contributions from renowned experts in the field, some of the topics discussed in depth here include networks in systems biology, the computational modeling of multidrug-resistant bacteria, and systems biology of cancer. Given its scope, the book is intended for researchers, advanced students, and practitioners of systems biology. The chapters are research-oriented, and present some of the latest findings on their respective topics.
Modeling and Analysis of Bio-Molecular Networks by
This book addresses a number of questions from the perspective of complex systems: How can we quantitatively understand the life phenomena? How can we model life systems as complex bio-molecular networks? Are there any methods to clarify the relationships among the structures, dynamics and functions of bio-molecular networks? How can we statistically analyse large-scale bio-molecular networks? Focusing on the modeling and analysis of bio-molecular networks, the book presents various sophisticated mathematical and statistical approaches. The life system can be described using various levels of bio-molecular networks, including gene regulatory networks, and protein-protein interaction networks. It first provides an overview of approaches to reconstruct various bio-molecular networks, and then discusses the modeling and dynamical analysis of simple genetic circuits, coupled genetic circuits, middle-sized and large-scale biological networks, clarifying the relationships between the structures, dynamics and functions of the networks covered. In the context of large-scale bio-molecular networks, it introduces a number of statistical methods for exploring important bioinformatics applications, including the identification of significant bio-molecules for network medicine and genetic engineering. Lastly, the book describes various state-of-art statistical methods for analysing omics data generated by high-throughput sequencing. This book is a valuable resource for readers interested in applying systems biology, dynamical systems or complex networks to explore the truth of nature.
Proteomics and Systems Biology by
Proteomics and Systems Biology, Volume 127 in the Advances in Protein Chemistry and Structural Biology series, outlines current proteomic methodologies and discuss the challenges in future applications of systems biology in a number of biomedical/bioscience subjects. In last few decades, advances in genomics, proteomics, metabolomics, glycomics, venomics, etc., have produced vast large-scale datasets that need to be analyzed with a single main objective of understanding biological systems as a whole. Such understanding will allow us to predict and characterize the dynamic properties of biological systems.
Quantitative Elements of General Biology by
This monograph sketches out a broad spectrum of problems (from evolution and metabolism to morphogenesis and biogeographical dynamics) whose solution has been impacted by mathematical models. Each of the selected examples has led to the recognition--and set direction to further study--of certain fundamental but unintuitive properties of biological systems, such as the making and breaking of specific symmetries that underlie morphogenesis. Whether they are long-established or only recently accepted, these models are selected for being thought-provoking and illuminating both the achievements and the gaps in our current understanding of the given area of biology. The selection of models is also meant to bring to the fore the existing degree of unity in the quantitative approach to diverse general-biological questions and in the systems-level properties that are discovered across the levels of biological organization. It is the thesis of this book that further cultivation of such unity is a way forward as we progress toward a general theory of living matter. This is an ideal book for students (in the broadest sense) of biology who wish to learn from this attempt to present the exemplary models, their methodological lessons, and the outline of a unified theory of living matter that is now beginning to emerge. In addition to a doctoral student preparing for quantitative biology research, this reader could also be an interdisciplinary scientist transitioning to biology. The latter--for example, a physicist or an engineer--may be comfortable with the mathematical apparatus and prepared to quickly enter the intended area of work, but desires a broader foundation in biology from the quantitative perspective.
