Advanced Analytics for Green and Sustainable Economic Development by Zongwei Luo (Editor)Trends in green and sustainable development have and will continue to influence all major economies. Identifying the risks and opportunities associated with sustainable economic development and green analysis for sustainability warrants the use and study of advanced analytics. Advanced Analytics for Green and Sustainable Economic Development: Supply Chain Models and Financial Technologies focuses on the development of innovative techniques and tools that answer urgent questions in the global trend of sustainable economic development. This book will be useful to professionals, researchers, and policymakers working in various disciplines including business and economy, science and engineering, social sciences, government policy, and legal studies. Chapters in this work also provide a valuable resource for business managers concerned with the development of green business and application of low carbon practices.
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Designing and Implementing Global Supply Chain Management by Sudhanshu Joshi (Editor); Rohit Joshi (Editor)Business practices are constantly evolving in order to meet growing customer demands. By implementing fresh procedures through the use of new technologies, organizations are able to remain competitive and meet the expectations of their customers. Designing and Implementing Global Supply Chain Management examines how various organizations have re-engineered their business processes in an effort to accommodate new innovations and remain relevant in a highly competitive global marketplace. Highlighting the creation of integrated supply chains and the emergence of virtual business communities, this publication is an appropriate reference source for students, researchers, and practitioners interested in trending approaches to external business functions used to efficiently respond to growing customer demands.
Publication Date: 2015-12-02
Supply Chain Information Technology, Second Edition by David L. OlsonThe rapid growth in computer technology provides supply chain managers with valuable tools to better coordinate and control their operations. This book seeks to describe systems available to give supply chains information system support, demonstrating key tasks with demonstrated analytic techniques. This second edition provides you with newer cases to demonstrate concepts that will allow to better manage your supply chain management position in one of the fastest growing fields in our economy.
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Supply Chain Planning and Analytics by Gerald FeiginEvery company must continually wrestle with the problem of deciding the right quantity and mix of products or services that it should produce as well as when and where to produce them. The problem is challenging because the decision must be made with uncertain and conflicting information about future demand, available production capacity, and sources of supply. The decision is in fact a highly complex balancing act, involving tradeoffs along many dimensions - for example, inventory targets vs. customer service levels, older products vs. newer ones, direct customers vs. channel partners - and requiring the compromise of constituents - sales, marketing, operations, procurement, product development, finance, as well as suppliers and customers - with varied objectives. The ability of a company to nimbly navigate this decision process without giving too much influence to any of the parties involved largely determines how well the company can respond to changing market conditions and ultimately whether the company will continue to thrive. This book focuses on the complex challenges of supply chain planning - the set of business processes that companies use for planning to meet future demand. Supply chain planning comprises a variety of planning processes within an organization: demand planning, sales & operations planning, inventory planning, promotion planning, supply planning, production planning, distribution planning, and capacity planning. Of course, not all companies engage in all of these planning activities and they may refer to these activities by other names but they all struggle with the on-going effort of matching demand with supply. Many textbooks address supply chain planning problems and present mathematical tools and methods for solving certain classes of problems. This book is intended to complement these texts by focusing not on the mathematical models but on the problems that arise in practice that either these models do not adequately address or that make applying the models difficult or impossible. The book is not intended to provide pat solutions to these problems, but more to highlight the complexities and subtleties involved and describe ways to overcome practical issues that have worked for some companies.
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
Logistics Management by Tan Miller; Matthew J. LiberatoreLogistics professionals must utilize a broad array of analytic techniques and approaches for decision-making. Effective use of analytics requires an understanding of both fundamental and advanced logistics decision-making techniques and methodologies. Further, logistics professionals must organize and view these analytics-based decision support tools through well-structured planning frameworks. In this book, we illustrate and explain a wide range of practical logistics strategies and analytic techniques to facilitate decision-making across functions such as manufacturing, warehousing, transportation and inventory management. We also describe how to organize these analytics-based tools and strategies through logistics frameworks that span strategic, tactical and operational planning and scheduling decisions. This book is intended for logistics professionals to use as a reference document that offers ideas and guidance for addressing specific logistics management decisions and challenges, and it will also serve as a valuable resource or secondary text for graduate and advanced undergraduate students.
Covers: 1971-. This business and trade database indexes and offers full text for U.S. and international academic and trade journals covering business and economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886, in addition to popular and trade magazines and newsletters. In addition to periodical literature, also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
New! Includes selected case studies and Harvard Business Review Ebooks!
Covers: 1850- (most 1970-). Indexes published research from books, technical reports, conferences and journals. It has information provided by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre and contains records previously indexed by TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services) and ITRD (International Transport Research documentation). The focus of TRIS is transportation research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation.