To determine what digital items are available in a processed collection: 

In some cases, digitized items in CONTENTdm or other digital collection platforms have been entered into ArchivesSpace as a Digital Object with a link directly from the finding aid to the object in CONTENTdm or other platform. DAO association has only occurred on a project-by-project basis, and as of 2023 is completed only for the following digital collections: Fulbright Program History; Fruit-Full Arkansas- Apples; 40-50-100; Lives Transformed, the People of Southland College; Deputy Marshal Addison Beck and Judge Isaac Parker's Court; Land of (Unequal) Opportunity); Richard L. Holt, Sr. Papers; J. Fulbright Speaks; Brooks Hays materials; The University of Arkansas Campuses; Shared History; Florence Price; Governess Della Hottel; A Belated Gift; Rising Above (CAST); and Community and Conflict (Missouri Digital Heritage).

A/V items which have been digitized will have a “existence and location of copies" note at the item level of the finding aid; if an entire collection or series or sub-series has been digitized, the existence and location of copies note may be at the series-, subseries- or collection-level.

Physical media, such as computer disks and CDs, will have a “existence and location of copies" note at the folder or item level of the finding aid if information has been transferred to a server.

Born digital materials without a physical media component are usually listed in the finding aid as a “digital folder” or “digital item” rather than simply folder or item. Ex: Digital Folder 1

Collections with born-digital components should have a digital extent listed at the collection level.

This is a work in progress for the Processing Team, so if in doubt contact Amy, Katrina, or the processor of the collection.

When patrons request access to born-digital or digitized materials already stored in Archivematica, Research Services staff should contact Katrina or Amy for copies of the requested materials. The "Existence and Location of Copies" note, located in the finding aid, will indicate when materials have been digitized, processed, and stored in Archivematica. 

Katrina or Amy will deliver an archival information package (AIP) to Research Services staff via Box or an external drive. Research Services is responsible for removing the submissionDocumentation directory from the package before granting access to patrons. 

Requests for materials stored in Archivematica may take multiple days to deliver to Research Services staff. Please require at least five days notice before scheduled appointments OR notify patrons that large requests for remote access (when permissible) may be delivered in sections over a number days.

Before granting access:

• Staff should ensure there are no access restrictions or copyright issues before granting Box access to materials outside of the reading room. 
• Staff should inspect digital files for PII or other protected information before granting access. Screening activities should take no more than 1.5 hours.
• If PII or other protected information is found during screening, remove those materials by either:
  • removing the files if there are only a few to be removed (no more than 5);
  • removing the directory(ies) that contain the files if a large portion (more than 5 files) are nested within the same directory;
  • OR deny access based on abundance and complexity of PII and other protected information present within the files. Remember: Special Collections will attempt to remove restricted/private information when it can be done within a reasonable timeframe.
• If materials have been removed due to privacy laws or donor/organizational restrictions, notify the researcher that those files are not available due to [privacy laws, donor/organizational restrictions].
• If PII or other protected information is found during screening activities, notify Katrina or Amy and include filenames and the information found in your communication.