Overview: This box contains Useful Pages and Links that can be utilized while carrying out your job duties.
It is beneficial to periodically backup the most current version of the StaffGuide, so that in the event of catastrophic data lost, we will still have access to the content and procedures developed during the creation of this guide.
There are two ways of backing up the StaffGuide's content: creating an HTML backup and Exporting an XML backup.
For our purposes, we should create HTML backups every couple of months, or if we create a particularly large, new section of the guide or make major revisions. Less often, we should backup our StaffGuide data by using the XML export since this option gives us different options on how we could use the StaffGuide data should it be lost or corrupted.
To backup the guide:
See Springshare's guide here.
Select the table icon on the right side of the StaffGuide Screen>>Create HTML Backup. Save the backup file the Serials Drive (Alexandria)>>Procedures>>StaffGuide Backup>> (whatever the guide's name is) Backup. Alter the file name so that the date of the backup is shown.
Save the file: (notice the date is added to the end of the file name.
XML Export and backup:
See Springshare's guide here.
The XML export backup is the same procedure, but you must Request the XML export data to be collected, wait for the data to be assembled. This usually takes about an hour. A link will be sent to your email which will direct you to the Data Exports page of Research Guides.
At the Research Guides Data Export page, right click the download icon and choose Save Link As. Save to the Serials Drive (Alexandria)>>Procedures>>Research Guide Guide Backup>>Print Guide Backup. The file will be a zip file. Attach the date onto the end of the file name, as seen the HTML Backup Procedure.
LHRO will no longer need to review conference schedules to determine what will be considered work time for classified staff. As long as you follow the basic guidelines, it will be between the employee and supervisor to make the determination. If you have any questions, we will be happy to assist.
This list is to be used for reference only. It is not exhaustive, nor authoritative.
Analyzed Title: in its broad sense means that all books in a series are cataloged individually – one bib record for each book. A series may be “classed together,” which means that all the books have the same call number, or a series may be “classed separately,” which means the books are classified by individual subjects and all have different call numbers. Analyzed titles require a series authority record.
Arkansas Flat Project: Project in which Serials is collating, verifying, measuring, and boxing loose issues for particular titles determined by head of Special Collections (at the time).
Authority Record: A record that describes the decision made concerning the authoritative form of a name (personal or corporate), uniform title, series title, or subject used as a heading in a library catalog or file of bibliographic records.
Binding Consultation: Meeting with binding to discuss a particular issue or title. (Often used to decide if a damaged or defective item can be repair or should be claimed).
Broken URL: These are URLs located in bibliographic records which no longer direct to a functioning webpage (404 errors) or to the correct webpage. Upon discovery, these URLs should be reported eSerials for review.
Cancellation: Subset of drops that always involve monetary implications.
Cancellations can refer to entire subscriptions (print + online “o”, print only “p”, internet only “i”, etc.)
Example: Cancel Print.
If there is only one format being purchased, cancellation will be denoted Cancel Subscription or Format Change.
Example: Cancel subscription could be denoted Cancel Internet, Cancel print, Cancel print + online (retain online) would be Format Change.
Ceased Publication: publication is no longer available in any format.
Changes in status: The movement of a resource from one type of acquisition to another. Examples can be found below.
From paid to gift; publisher decides to publish content free, online only.
From paid to gift; campus department provides gift copies; cancel print.
From gift to paid; publication is no longer free.
From exchange to gift; exchange ceased years ago but continued to send gift copy.
From gift to depository; gift is no longer available; Ark Doc or US Doc copy is provided for check-in copy.
Check In Record: (also known as a holdings record): A separate record attached to the bibliographic record for a serial title in which the receipt of individual issues or parts is entered on an ongoing basis. Often vital information regarding a title can be found in the check in record notes. In eSerials, check in records hold vital information for access, including URL, holdings information, Resource ID.
Classed Separately: Refers to the classification of a series in which all of the monographs/books/electronic resources are classified by individual subjects and each have different call numbers.
Classed Collectively (classed together): Refers to the classification of a series in which all the books/electronic resources have the same call number.
Continuations: (R3) are a classification of serials which require special check in procedures.Continuation titles can be identified by these features:
Title is published annually or irregularly
Part of a series
Monograph (Title) by (Author)—May have ISBN instead of ISSN.
Any: Proceedings, Annual Report, Special Publication, Special Bulletin, Agricultural Publication
Correction/Corrigendum: See errata.
Coverage Database: A collection of electronic resources, listing title, ISSN, eISSN, start date, end date, embargo period, URL and any custom notes that gets its information from Serials Solutions. The coverage database informs both ERM check in records and the Find it! service.
Damaged: When a serial is physically harmed en route from the publisher to the recipient and arrives in a condition less than perfect. Consult with binding to repair or claim.
A term used by Serials Solutions to describe regularly updated file of digitized information (bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.) related to a specific subject or field. See also: Coverage Database
Also a term used to describe integrating resources with search boxes.
Defective: When a serial contains flaws or faults which render the serial less than perfect. Unlike damages, defects often happen at the time of publication. Common defects include (uncut pages, misprinted pages, etc.). Consult with binding for a decision to repair or claim.
Discard: Physical removal of any pieces (can be in any format) and this is done only by binding. These pieces either have I-type Unbound or no item record.
Withdrawn Volumes: Volumes that have been added to the library and are assumed to be counted and must be withdrawn only by cataloging. These DO have item records.
Discovery Layer: A user interface tool designed to search all of UARK’s numerous holdings at once, providing users access to the entirety of UARK collections through a unified index. Our discovery layer is Summon.
Drop: We are no longer receiving a resource (can be print, online, any media format).
(Cancellation: Subset of drops that usually/always involve monetary implications.)
Example of Drop notes in a check in record:
PENDING DROP: [reason, Resolve Claims, Notify Maint] [i.e. Cancel subscription w/ 2009 expiration]
PENDING DROP: Print ceased convert to online: Format/Title Change
PENDING DROP: Print ceased w/ v.4 no.12 2015
Drops (Print Limited Retention):
Drop: Discard Issues & Withdraw Title: Discard all issues at time of drop.
Some subject selectors require discarding issues in discrete units of time (example: Current 5 years in PER, discard 1 year at a time).
Exchanges: Exchanges are agreements that we enter into with other institutions in which we provide material (often journals) in exchange for equal material (journals). Exchanges can be classified as Free or Paid (our library pays for the exchange copies).
Errata/Erratum: Errors discovered after a book or periodical has gone to press. Synonymous with corrigenda. Errata and/or corrections can most often be found in the table of contents, letters section, or at the back of the issue. Pay particular attention for corrections in peer reviewed research journals.
Find it! Service: A link service provided by the University that allows users to quickly locate full-text articles and related resources from dozens of databases.
Format Change (serials accountant vocabulary): One material type is cancelled and internet is purchased or retained.
Free access: denotes that the access to a resource is available free of charge, without payment restrictions. Unlike open access, freely available need not be scholarly or peer-reviewed. Open Access is a more stringent type of free access.
Freely Available Database: Similar to free access, these are databases listed in Serials Solutions that are available without cost to the public. Unlike open access, freely available resources need not be scholarly. Several online databases are dedicated exclusively to the collection of freely available resources.
Examples of such databases include: Freely Accessible Journals databases found in Serials Solutions.
Holdings Record: See Check In record.
Integrating Resource: A category of continuing resource that is added to or changed by means of updates that do not remain discrete and are integrated into the whole. Examples include (in print form) items that are loose-leaf for updating and (in electronic form) many web sites.
Kardex Card Review and Maintenance Project: The goal of this project is to dispose of old Kardex cards. Before disposing of any Kardex card, however, it is necessary to review the card holdings to determine if there are discrepancies between the information found on the Kardex card and what is in our library catalog (this includes the library has note, as well as item records). If discrepancies are found, they must be investigated and, if needed, corrected.
Limited Distribution: Titles may be distributed in small quantities or to a specific set of consumers (stockholders, members only, etc.). Sometimes, limited distribution will prompt a drop, because, though still printed, the library will no longer have access to a publication.
Limited Retention: A decision has been made to hold issues of a serial for a limited amount of time. Note: In limited retention notes, use the word “current” for titles published more frequently than annually. Use the word latest for titles published annually or less frequently.
License Record: A record type in Sierra that codifies the details of a contact for a resource, including whether it is active, interlibrary loan (ILL) privileges, who has access, and details of usage/special stipulations.
Microfiche Barcoding Project: Project designed to create item records for microfiche. The purpose of this project is to do item record creation and envelope maintenance to ensure the best treatment and preservation of the microfiche.
Migrating: Denotes the transfer of online resources from one publisher to another.
Example: Migration of JSTOR Complete Chicago Package titles from the JSTOR platform to the University of Chicago Press platform.
Mode of Access Change (formerly Format Change in notes): when our access to a particular resource changes from one mode of access to another. Is this needed?
On Order (online): An order has been placed for a resource, but access is not yet available. Accompanied by an OnOrder Tickler.
On Order (print): An order has been placed and the issue has not yet arrived.
Online Drop: Removal of internet access from a particular resource. Note: When all online access for a resource has been removed and if there are no longer any other formats/records attached to the bibliographic record, the resource will need to be dropped and withdrawn (removed from the catalog).
Open Access: Generally refers to free online access to scholarly materials without restrictions.For this designation all titles must be 1) scholarly 2) peer-reviewed 3) available without restrictions. A local subject note (690) Open access journal is added at the package load to all titles in databases designated open access. For more information on open access, see the Open Access/Scholarly Communication Research Guide.
Examples include: Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) and Hindawi online journals
Open access [partial]: This is a subset of open access. While the open access definition remains the same as the one above, only some of the content located in the resource is open access. The local subject note (690) Open access journals [partial] is added at the package level to titles in databases. Examples include: ScienceDirect Open Access and Nature Open Access
OPAC: Online public access catalog.
Order Record: a record created and associated with the bibliographic record for a title/resource at the time it is ordered, containing information needed to process the order (name of selector, budgetary fund, vendor, order date, estimated price, purchase order number, date received, special handling notes, date cataloged, and pertinent characteristics of the item). Serials accountant has the authority to create or alter a paid order record.
Perfect Copy: also known as a flawless copy: This is a subset of replacements and is the replaced, undamaged, and unflawed item.
Perpetual access: the ability to retain access to electronic journals after the contractual paid access agreement for these materials has passed.
Print Ceased: Print is no longer being published/distributed.
Problem Title: designates titles that are available in Serials Solutions but have issues regarding appropriate profiling (e.g. only found in databases that we have not yet profiled, or occur in databases that we do not profile or have access.
Profile/Profiling: the selection to track online resources (either at the title level or the database level) in the Serials Solutions platform. In Serials Solutions this is denoted through the Status section: Subscribed or Not Tracked. Profiling generates the public eJournals A-Z List. Data from the profiled selections in Serials Solutions is then imported into Sierra where it populates OneSearch and Find it! Service.
Proxy: A computer server that acts as an intermediary for requests, so that patrons who are off campus can appear to have an on-campus IP address. In our case, we add proxy URLs to allow off campus users access to paid content.
Example a URL with proxy: 0-www.emeraldinsight.com.library.uark.edu
REPL: Subset of replacements purchased only by the Serials Accountant with prior approval of collection management. Generally, these have been paid for once; hence they are truly being replaced.
Replacement: Obtaining a copy of a volume/issue which we once held or volume/issue that arrived damaged/defective.
Resource Record: The connector record for license, contact, and check in holding records. All of the ERM check in records link to both the bibliographic and resource record. It contains the name of the Serial Solutions database, general subjects, statistics information, administrative login information, and other information that needs to be kept related to the database.
Retraction: A type of correction in which an author or publisher withdraws or disavows in whole or part the results of a previously published study.
Standing Order: Categorization of serials which are shipped and billed to the library as they are released. The issue or the invoice may arrive first, but cannot be processed without both.
Subscription (online): Category of serials which ensures the right to receive access to a resource for a specific length of time. Some subscriptions also come with perpetual access rights. See perpetual access for more information.
Subscription (print): Category of serials which ensures the right to receive a physical format of newspaper or periodical for a designated period of time.
Summon: The discovery layer (Web-scale discovery service) purchased by the University intended to allow uses to search across the entirety of the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville collections using a unified index.
Temporary Check Ins: These are check in records which are set up to help eSerial staff stay up-to-date on maintenance for specific titles or databases. They often include ticklers and are deleted once the maintenance issues are solved. Types of temporary check ins include E-Awaiting Access Tickler and MULN Inter Under Review.
Tickler: Is a reminder system in Sierra that allows Serials staff to be alerted on a specific date regarding maintenance on a title or database. Standardized ticklers are often set up in temporary check ins, but cannot be used in order records. For more information by electronic serials on Serials standardized ticklers, see the tickler section of the electronic serials Research Guide.
Title Change: Frequently serials change words in the title. These incidents require a title change to indicate previous and succeeding titles. Title changes also occur when a format ceases publication but continues in a different format even though actual words in the title remain the same. For more details see the Research Guide.
Title Change: Print Ceased/Going Online only. Title changes must be initiated when print ceases and a publication is now available online only.
Transfer: Involves a physical change in materials from one library to another. Normally, processed by cataloging. On rare occasions [Example: ARKCO Latest xx retention in PER] items are sent through Serials to modify check in locations and send the issues to ARKCO.
Under Review: Status used to denote any electronic resource that is currently being evaluated by eSerials for maintenance. Reviews can encompass monitoring for cessation of online access, perpetual access, or other maintenance.
Unable to Profile: A title, after extensive searching, cannot be located in Serials Solutions. Use standardize note: 994 SERIALS SOLUTIONS Unable to profile (Date, initials)
Unpaid Resource Categories (print): gift, free exchange, paid exchange.
Unpaid Depository Categories (print): Ark Docs and US Docs.
WebBridge: See Find It!
Web-Scale Discovery Service: See Discovery Layer, see also Summon
Withdraws: Handled only by Serials Cataloger.
Note: The Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ABC-CLIO) was used as a reference for compiling this glossary.
Check out the Library Speak: Acronym and Abbreviation Cheat Sheet from the UCSB Library & LAUC Santa Barbara Division.
Macros are a programmed keyboard actions allow you to complete multiple actions using one or a combination of keystrokes. Setting up macros to use in Sierra is an easy procedure that will save you lots time and, of course, keystrokes!
Within the main Sierra window, select Admin, Settings, then the tab Macros. You have the option to create up to 48 different macros, using no modifer, alt, ctrl, or shift.
It may be helpful to create macros for the following common phrases:
|Bnd dup recd.|
|Unbnd dup recd.|
|%ENTER%v947%tab%BIB XPO ; 222, 830, 856, 022 for SS added (Date/Initials)|
|if access is unavailable add a new tickler and chg expected date.|
|%ENTER%n506%TAB%Electronic access limited to UAF current students, faculty, and staff.|
|%ENTER%v994%TAB%SER SOLUTIONS add title ,profiled as a journal only, not available as a book|
|%ENTER%n588%TAB%Latest issue consulted:|
Note: For more complex actions, the % operator is involved.
THERE ARE THREE DRIVES TO MAP:
Connecting to Network Printers
Right-click on the icon of the printer you want. For example, for the network color printer in cataloging right click on
Outgoing serials mail can be placed in the outgoing serials mail basket. Mail that is being delivered within campus requires no postage.
A UofA letterhead template can be found at:
Sometimes your printer may jam, particularly the older Epson model pritners. In many cases, fixing the jam is easy; however, sometimes you may need to obtain materials from binding (tweezers and goo gone) to make fixing the jam easier.
If the jam proves intractable, you can report the problem to IT, using the report a problem page.
To send record bibliographic record in Sierra via email:
To actually email the record, you must now print the record by selecting the printer icon, using CTRL P, or using the print option in the file menu.
After the above procedure is completed, the setting will remain in place until you logout of Sierra or until you change it again (depending on your permissions).
To change setting to print on paper again:
Open bibliographic record in Sierra, edit and save record you want to send
From Menu, select File, then Select Printer, then Standard Printer
Select Local Printer from the choices.
Select your printer
To print, you must now print the record by selecting the printer icon, using CTRL P, or using the print option in the file menu.
For comprehensive help regarding Serials Solutions, see the ExLibris Knowledge Center 360 Core/Client Center web site. Here you can find Knowledge Articles, Product Documentation, Training, and Release Notes.
Note: Sections may require an ExLibris username and password.
Routine maintenance of the Copier/Shredder room is divided up into monthly segments by all of the library technical services departments. Should you encounter a problem with the shredder or copier, see which department is on duty for that month and bring the problem to their attention.
Serials designates an employee to handle the monthly maintenance duties when Serials is on-call.
The Monthly Copier/Shredder Duty list (Serials' months are in bold):
During the months of February, June, and October, Serials is responsible for shredder and copier maintenance.
When you are gone from the area, please post a note at your workstation.
These notes are very helpful to individuals answering the phone
and/or if you might need to be found in an emergency.
Just a few reminders on phone courtesy:
1. Answer the phone as "University Libraries, Serials." and identify yourself.
Ex: University Libraries, Serials. This is John.
2. Calls can be personal or business, so treat every call as business.
3. We don't make a habit of placing someone on hold, so please lay the phone down softly on the counter. (Without placing someone on hold, any noise or words spoken can be heard by the caller.) Also, quietly notify the individual receiving the call.
4. If the individual receiving the call isn't available:
ask if you can take a message
ask for a phone number
ask if someone else could assist.