Research Guides: German Language and Literature: Films and Other Media

Need Something?

WorldCat enables you to search for items beyond Fayetteville. If you find a film or audio book citation in WorldCat or another resource, please check OneSearch to see if it is locally available. If we don't own it, you possibly can obtain it via the Libraries' ILL software, ILLiad.

Finding Images

Images can enrich the study of language and literature. Try ARTstor, the definitive database of images, or one of the other resources listed below.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Users can search for or browse images by creator, time period, genre, type of work (e.g., sculpture, jewelry, architectural drawing), or by region where created. Artstor images are contributed by museums, libraries, and universities worldwide and are intended for educational use.
On first login from off-campus, you will be prompted to link or create an Artstor personal account. More info.

ARTstor Languages and Literature
Highlights ARTstor content related to languages and literature.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1980-.Offers the full text of reference sources in all disciplines. Users can search for specific words or concepts or browse by subject area. Special tools include a concept map that charts the occurrences of search and related terms across the collection and an image search. Topic pages covering people, places, events, or ideas pull together information from across several different reference sources.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia offers many public domain or Creative Commons images. Be sure to check licensing information carefully!

German Films in the Libraries

The Libraries have a small collection of German films in DVD format. Viewing equipment for all formats and regions is located in Multimedia Services.

Use OneSearch find items owned by the Libraries. Feature films are best located by using genre searches such as:

feature films germany

feature films austria

To search for works about German films, use the OneSearch Advanced Search for subject:

motion pictures germany

For more information consult the Research Guide "Film Research."

Online Film Collections

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of videos from producers such as the BBC, Criterion, PBS, and more. Films include theatrical releases, documentaries, training films, and art cinema. Films are licensed for academic use. Includes German titles from the Criterion Collection and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection.
Academic Video Online: AVON This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection. Topics covered include Architecture, Art, Business, Counseling and therapy, Dance, Economics, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Health, History, Humanities, Law and public safety, LGBT studies, Literature, Opera, Philosophy,Political science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theater, and Women's studies. Video types include newsreels, field recordings, demonstrations of specific techniques, archival footage, interviews, and documentaries.

Film and Media Research

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.
Chambers Film Factfinder
"A collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century."

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers mostly 1990s-. Indexes articles on film and television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Music and Theatre Resources

For in-depth information about finding music resources, consult the Music Research Guide.

Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming access to classical, jazz, world, American roots and folk, and popular music. Includes content from labels such as EMI ,Blue Note, Capital, Verve, Motown, Decca, Smithsonian, Rounder, and the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The world´s largest online classical music library. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented. The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: all time periods. Combines several important reference works for the study of music, including the New Grove Encyclopedia of Music and Musicians, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Edition New Grove Dictionary of Opera, 2nd edition, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and more.

Cambridge Companion to Opera Studies
"Written by leading scholars in opera studies today, this Companion offers a wide-ranging guide to a rapidly expanding field of study and new ways of thinking about a rich and intriguing art form, placing opera back at the centre of our understanding of Western culture over the past 400 years. This book gives lovers of opera as well as those studying the subject a comprehensive approach to the many facets of opera in the past and today."
Cambridge Companion to the Lied
"Several generations before Schubert, the Lied emerged as domestic entertainment destined to move beyond the home to the symphony hall. This introductory chronicle of this fascinating genre analyzes the Lied in its musical, literary, and cultural contexts--with chapters devoted to focal composers; influence of the Lied on other musical genres; use as a musical commodity and issues of performance."
Cambridge Companion to Wagner
"Richard Wagner is remembered as one of the most influential figures in music and theatre, but his place in history has been marked by a considerable amount of controversy. His attitudes towards the Jews and the appropriation of his operas by the Nazis, for example, have helped to construct a historical persona that sits uncomfortably with modern sensibilities. Yet Wagner 's absolutely central position in the operatic canon continues. This volume serves as a timely reminder of his ongoing musical, cultural, and political impact. "

German Audio Books

The Libraries have a few audio books in German that can be found in OneSearch.

For a free online collection, visit Vorleser.net.