"The Renaissance was a much heralded but rather indistinct period of transition from medieval to modern times. Spanning the period from the fourteenth to the sixteenth centuries, it changed forever the course of Western history, and formed the foundation for today's art, science, commerce, politics and religion. The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance details in its many entries the broad range of events, people, ideas and movements that together have come to represent this era."

"The Cambridge Companion to German Idealism offers a comprehensive, penetrating, and informative guide to what is regarded as the classical period of German philosophy. The essays in the volume trace and explore the unifying themes of German Idealism , and discuss their relationship to Romanticism, the Enlightenment, and the culture of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Europe."

"In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century."

"The late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries saw an extraordinary flowering of arts and culture in Germany which produced many of the world's finest writers, artists, philosophers and composers. This volume, first published in 2004, offers students and specialists an authoritative introduction to that dazzling cultural phenomenon, now known collectively as German Romanticism."

"This Companion explores the international aspects of literary modernism by mapping the history of the movement across Europe and within each country. The essays place the various literary traditions within a social and historical context and set out recent critical debates."

"The Great War of 1914-1918 marked a turning point in modern history and culture. This Companion offers critical overviews of the major literary genres and social contexts that define the study of the literatures produced by World War I."

"This Companion provides a comprehensive overview of the international literatures of the war : both those works that recorded or reflected experiences of the war as it happened, and those that tried to make sense of it afterwards. It surveys the writing produced in the major combatant nations (Britain and the Commonwealth, the USA, Japan, Germany, France, Italy, and the USSR), and explores its common themes."

"Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines."

"A comprehensive introduction to postcolonialism , this Companion examines different aspects of postcolonial thought and culture that have had a significant effect on contemporary critical thought."

"The great German philosopher and aesthetic theorist Theodor Wiesengrund Adorno (1903-1969) was one of the main philosophers of the first generation of the Frankfurt School of critical theory.... A distinguished roster of Adorno specialists explores the full range of his contributions to philosophy, history, music theory, aesthetics and sociology in this collection of essays."

"A critical evaluation of Brentano's significance in his historical context, and of his impact on contemporary philosophy in both the analytic and the continental traditions."

"This updated Companion offers students crucial guidance on virtually every aspect of the work of this complex and controversial writer. It brings together the contrasting views of major critics and active practitioners, and ... a detailed calendar of Brecht 's life and work and a selective bibliography of English criticism complete this provocative overview of a writer who constantly aimed to provoke."

"This study provides a stimulating and accessible survey of this many-sided figure. The volume places Goethe in the context of the Germany and Europe of his lifetime."

"This Companion offers the widest coverage of Grass 's oeuvre across the range of media in which he works, including literature, television and visual arts. Throughout, there is particular emphasis on Grass 's literary style, the creative personality which inhabits all his work, and the impact on his reputation of revelations about his early involvement with Nazism. The volume sets out, in a fresh and lively fashion, the fundamentals that students and readers need in order to understand Grass and his individual works."

"This Companion of specially-commissioned essays offers a comprehensive account of his life and work, providing a rounded contemporary appraisal of Central Europe's most distinctive Modernist."

"Key dimensions of Thomas Mann 's writing and life are explored in this collection of specially commissioned essays."

"Often regarded as the greatest German poet of the twentieth century, Rainer Maria Rilke (1875–1926) remains one of the most influential figures of European modernism. In this Companion, leading scholars offer informative and thought-provoking essays."

"Offers a comprehensive introduction to the work and thought of the highly influential twentieth-century critic and theorist Walter Benjamin."

"A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership."

"Offers the student and scholar of literary and cultural studies the most comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities."

"an illuminating overview of the entire history of Critical Theory in the twentieth century, an examination of its central conceptual concerns, and an in-depth discussion of its future prospects."

"A lively and comprehensive account of the whole tradition of European fiction for students and teachers of comparative literature, this volume covers twenty-five of the most significant and influential novelists in Europe." Includes essays on Goethe and Thomas Mann.

"Theodor Fontane, Hermann Hesse, Thomas Mann, Franz Kafka, and Gunther Grass are among the writers examined in this comprehensive introduction to the development of the German novel in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Including a chronology and guide to further reading, the Companion conveys the vitality and complexity of the modern German novel , and the debates surrounding it."

"fourteen world-class experts on the Gothic provide thorough and revealing accounts of this haunting-to-horrifying type of fiction from the 1760s (the decade of The Castle of Otranto, the first so-called 'Gothic story') to the end of the twentieth century (an era haunted by filmed and computerized Gothic simulations)."

"Since the graphic novel rose to prominence half a century ago, it has become one of the fastest growing literary/artistic genres, generating interest from readers globally. The Cambridge Companion to the Graphic Novel examines the evolution of comic books into graphic novels and the distinct development of this art form both in America and around the world. This Companion also explores the diverse subgenres often associated with it, such as journalism, fiction, historical fiction, autobiography, biography, science fiction and fantasy. Leading scholars offer insights into graphic novel adaptations of prose works and the adaptation of graphic novels to films; analyses of outstanding graphic novels, like Maus and The Walking Man; an overview which distinguishes the international graphic novel from its American counterpart; and analyses of how the form works and what it teaches, making this book a key resource for scholars, graduate students and undergraduate students alike."

Goethe-Institut site for German language comics, including brief author biograpies.

"This book offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field."

"Feminism has dramatically influenced the way literary texts are read, taught and evaluated. Feminist literary theory has deliberately transgressed traditional boundaries between literature, philosophy and the social sciences in order to understand how gender has been constructed and represented through language. This lively and thought-provoking Companion presents a range of approaches to the field."

"This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives."

"A comprehensive introduction to a vital period of Jewish intellectual history."

"The sixteen original essays are written by a world-renowned group of scholars especially for this volume and give a broad and rich picture of the tradition of modern Jewish philosophy over a period of four centuries."

"This collection of specially commissioned essays by leading figures discusses Jewish American literature in relation to ethnicity, religion, politics, race, gender, ideology, history, and ethics, and places it in the contexts of both Jewish and American writing."

"Provides readers with a comprehensive introduction to the most important and interesting historical and contemporary facets of Judaism in America."

"Your gateway to LBI's digital collections, a growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era. DigiBaeck provides instant access to materials ranging from rare 16th century renaissance books to memoirs that document the experience of German-Jewish émigrés across the world in the 20th century."

A joint venture of the Friedberg Jewish Manuscript Society and the National Library of Israel, in cooperation with many partner institutions, "the vision of the International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts is to allow readers across the globe to access the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts. Using state-of-the-art technology, the International Collection will preserve the digital images of the manuscripts for the future, and will enable readers and scholars to use the most innovative research and discovery tools."

"Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events."

"This Companion provides an authoritative account of modern German culture since the onset of industrialization, the rise of mass society and the nation state. Newly written and researched by experts in their respective fields, individual chapters trace developments in German culture --including national identity, class and race issues and the arts--from the nineteenth century to the present."

"With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. With a unique structure and format, an inclusive treatment of the concept of culture, and coverage of East, West and post-unification Germany, as well as Austria and Switzerland, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture is the first reference work of its kind. Containing longer overviews of up to 2,000 words, as well as shorter factual entries, cross-referencing to other relevant articles, useful further reading suggestions and extensive indexing, this highly useable volume provides the scholar, teacher, student or non-specialist with an astonishing breadth and depth of information."

"This comprehensive encyclopedia details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas, examining the extensive Germanic cultural and political legacy in the nations of the New World and the equally substantial influence of the Americas on the Germanic nations."

"From the reality TV show Superstar to Formula One ace Michael Schumacher, Pop Culture Germany! explores the exciting world of contemporary German popular culture."