"Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English."

"Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English."

Frontmatter -- Contents, Inhalt -- Introduction -- Geleitwort -- Foreword to the first edition -- Vorwort zur 1. Auflage -- Foreword to the fifth edition -- Vorwort zur 5. Auflage -- Abbreviations, Abkürzungen -- A -- B -- C -- D -- E -- F -- G -- H -- I -- J -- K -- L -- M -- N -- O -- P -- Q -- R -- S -- T -- U -- V -- W -- X,Y, Z

Covers all the vocabulary of current issues, with evidence drawn from Collins' unique multi-million word databanks of contemporary German and English. This new edition of the Collins German Dictionary is the result of a new, exciting partnership between Collins and the market-leading German publisher, Langenscheidt. It has been extensively revised, updated and expanded to cover all the vocabulary of current issues. Thousands of new phrases and meanings have been added from evidence from Collins' unique multi-million word databases of contemporary English and German, giving the user the most complete and accurate picture of real language available today. The fifth edition includes the uniquely helpful Language in Use supplement, a guide to written and oral communication in German. The page layout has been further improved to make the text even more accessible and easy to use. Boasting all the features that make Collins dictionaries world bestsellers, the fifth edition of the Collins German Dictionary reaffirms this as THE German/English dictionary for the 21st century.