Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: Contemporary Newspapers of the North American Indian

About this Collection

Contemporary Newspapers of the North American Indian

About: The collection includes 51 Native American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. The papers were published from 1947-1973, with most falling in the early 1970s. Prepared in cooperation with the American Indian Press Association, Washington, D.C., and the Huntington Free Library of the Museum of the American Indian, Bronx, N.Y.
Location: LISA Microfilm ; Film 1130
Format: Microfilm
Arrangement: The newspapers were filmed in alphabetical order by title, then chronologically under each title.
Items: 18 reels of film; 51 papers
Publication: Bell and Howell, 1975?

Indexes and Guides

Reel one includes an index to the set which lists papers by title and place of publication. There is no index to individual articles within the newspapers.

Most papers can also be found by title in OneSearch.

Online Options

Many of the titles in this set can also be found in the database collections listed below.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Covers: 1828-2016. Aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada Includes papers from Talaquah, Atoka, Pawhuska, and Lawton Oklahoma.
Ethnic Newswatch
Covers 1990-. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. It includes unique community publications as well as scholarly journals on ethnicity and ethnic studies. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Nearly a quarter of the articles are in Spanish.