Research Guides: Public Policy: Health Policy

Public Health Librarian

Contact:

MULN 220K
479-575-3498
njohns@uark.edu

Subjects: Citation Managers, Style Manuals

Public Health Policy

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, public health is the science and systems designed to create community, statewide and nationwide conditions that promote health, prevent disease and encourage healthy behaviors across the entire population.

Public Policy Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1969-. The essential index for the field of economics. Provides citations for economic research in journals, books, collected volumes dissertations reports and other scholarly material.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: varies; most newspapers are 1990s-; legal materials extend back to the 19th century. Offers news, legal, and business information from both English language and international sources, including newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts as well as directories, corporate profiles, SEC Filings, business, industry and market news, federal and state case law, codes and regulations, law reviews and much more.
ProQuest Congressional and Executive Base This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1789- with full text from 1980s -. Provides an index of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record, as well as executive orders and presidential proclamations.

For 1980s forward, full text is available for many documents. Includes bill tracking reports, public laws, the Statutes at Large, and the United States Code Service, The Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations. Also contains biographical and financial information, voting records, committee rosters, charters, and schedules for committees and subcommittees. Check with the Law Library or ask us for hearings and documents not available online.
World Development Report Online This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1978-. Produced on an annual basis since 1978, The World Development Report (WDR) is the World Bank's major analytical publication. Each year addresses a different topic, ranging from agriculture and the environment to economic growth and international trade. A part of the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository (OKR).
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1989-. Provides access to full text consumer health periodicals.

Web Resources

Health.Gov
The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) plays a vital role in keeping the nation healthy. We accomplish this by setting national public health objectives and supporting programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans.
Centers for Disease Control
The CDC provides information and resources related to public health policy. They also provide guidelines and recommendations for approaching various public health issues.
World Health Organization
The WHO offers worldwide health programs and information relevant to health policies. Here they link to multiple relevant resources.