Metadata is data about data: it describes what an information object is, who created it, when it was created, and where it was created. It also includes information about the digital object itself, like the file format.
Metadata is important for two different audiences: the people who view your exhibit and the devices those people use to access your exhibit. Metadata provides additional information and context about each item in your exhibit that will help viewers learn more about that item’s significance. Metadata also provides crucial information to search engines, enabling interested users find your exhibit via tools like Google.
As you create metadata for each item in your exhibit, remember both audiences. It is important that you follow the instructions provided so that your metadata is well-structured and search engines and web browsers will be able to understand it. People will also see and read your metadata, so make sure that it’s human readable as well. Don’t forget to proof-read: typos aren’t good for either audience.
As you collect items to add to your exhibit, don’t forget to collect metadata to describe each item. Metadata elements you will need include:
Title: from Digital Collections item description
Description: write a brief description of the item. Think about both of your audiences: humans and search engines. Use keywords that will be meaningful to both.
Creator (if available): from Digital Collections item description
Source: Collection title (collection number), Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.
Relation: Digital image originally appeared in [title of digital collection]. Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville. [link]
Date or date range
Rights
Identifier: Collection number or call number
Most of these metadata elements already exist, and you will simply need to make note of them. In the University of Arkansas Digital Collections, scroll below the image to see the full Item Description. Copy the relevant fields into your working documents.Refer to the section in this guide on adding items and metadata for additional information on formatting and uploading your metadata to Omeka.
In this example, the item description elements circled in red map to the following metadata fields in Omeka:
Title from Photograph: title
Description: description (note: you do not have to use the description provided in Digital Collections, but it may include information that will help you write your own description)
Item Location: source
Digital Collection: Relation
Rights and Reproductions: Rights
Item Location: Identifier
In this example, the item description elements circled in red map to the following metadata fields in Omeka:
Title: title
Creator: creator
Description: description (note: you do not have to use the description provided in Digital Collections, but it may include information that will help you write your own description)
Date: date
Item Location: source
Rights: this rights statement is less detailed than the required default statement, so use the more specific statement instead: Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17). For additional information regarding publication of this item please contact the University of Arkansas Libraries Special Collections at 479-575-5577 or specoll@uark.edu.
Series Title: Relation
Item Location: Identifier