Newspapers

How to find current and historical newspapers at the Libraries and beyond.

New and Noteworthy: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Archive

Arkansas Gazette July 21, 1969, Men land on Moon

The Libraries have arranged an extended one-year trial to the combined archives of the Arkansas Gazette (1868-1991), Arkansas Democrat (1947-1991) and Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (1991-1992) archives.  This trial will give U of A researchers access to more than 150 years of our state's history: first hand.  The archive offers full-text searching through news stories as well as full page images from 1868 -1992.

The archive is still being developed so please note that some early years are difficult to read and some gaps exist in the coverage (1900-1908 for the Gazette and April 1992 - December 1993 for the Democrat-Gazette. )

At the end of our year-long trial, the Libraries will be selecting certain segments of the archive for permanent purchase so please share your thoughts on this new resource.

New and Noteworthy: ProQuest Historical Newspapers

New YorkAmsterdam News, October 27, 1947

We've added 3 new historical newspaper archives to our suite of ProQuest databases:

 

Together with the New York Times and Chicago Defender archives, these new papers expand the array of viewpoints, regions, and time periods covered by our primary source collections. 

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
  • Phone: 479-575-4104
  • Toll-free: 866-818-8115
  • Fax: 479-575-6656