Research Guides: Newspapers: Other Collections

Newspapers at Other Institutions

Use WorldCat, the union catalog describing holdings in thousands of libraries worldwide, to locate newspapers not in our collections. If these are on microfilm or microfiche, they can usually be borrowed for you through the Interlibrary Loan service.

The Arkansas State Archives holds the largest collection of Arkansas newspapers in the state. New: the State Archives have digitized many Arkansas papers for the Library of Congress Chronicling America project and may be searched and viewed online. They do not lend microform newspapers on Interlibrary Loan, but you can make a research trip to Little Rock to view papers not yet digitized.

The University Libraries are members of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), a "library's library" of hard-to-find materials. CRL has extensive collections of foreign and U.S. newspapers that can be borrowed for extended loan through Interlibrary Loan. Search their catalogs of foreign newspapers or of all holdings.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Arkansas State Archives
email: info@arkansasheritage.com
phone: tel:501-324-9150
Chronicling America, 1770-1963
This project at the Library of Congress offers digitized papers from all states and provides a directory of papers published since 1960. Search by keyword, browse by date or place, or limit to dates or ethnic groups.

Center for Research Libraries Newspapers Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) catalog of newspaper holdings by name, place of publication, or keyword. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). CRL holdsnewspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including a large number of U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.