Research Guides: Newspapers: International Newspapers

Current and Recent International Papers Online

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1980-. Offers the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, and blogs published outside the U.S. and Canada, including the Guardian (1996-), the Irish Times (1995-), the Jerusalem Post (1988-), and the Times (London,2011-). A part of the ProQuest Central database.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1970s-. Offers the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, and blogs. Includes the Globe and Mail (Toronto, 1977-), the Ottawa Citizen (1985-), and the Vancouver Sun (1987-). A part of the ProQuest Central database..
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: varies; most newspapers are 1990s-; legal materials extend back to the 19th century. Offers news, legal, and business information from both English language and international sources, including newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts as well as directories, corporate profiles, SEC Filings, business, industry and market news, federal and state case law, codes and regulations, law reviews and much more.

Newspaper Index
Provides links to web sites of international newspapers; organized by country. Includes only newspaper sites that are updated daily.

Historical International Papers Online

Times Digital Archive, 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1785-[5 years ago]. Provides a fully searchable archive of this major world newspaper back to the 18th century, including both page images and search text transcription.
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800-1922. Provides a gateway to search across historical newspapers published outside the U.S. The Libraries currently offer collections from Latin America and Africa.
World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1800-1922. Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers. Features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1805-1922 . Provides a searchable collection with page images of historical papers from South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean. Content is still being added, with monthly releases adding new issues and titles.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers, Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1823-1922 . Provides a searchable collection with page images of historical papers from South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean. Content is still being added, with monthly releases adding new issues and titles.
Global Press Archive: East African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1943-2016. A growing collection of post-war papers, including The Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Global Press Archive: El Caribe This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1956-2021. El Caribe (“The Caribbean”) is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.
Global Press Archive: Imperial Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1782-1918. Chronicles 189 years of Russian history. From Peter the Great’s founding of the Russian empire, through the empire’s expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between.
Global Press Archive: Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1807-1929. Offers 1000 papers covering Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods.
Global Press Archive: Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1911-1949. Offers almost 300 publications from the first half of the twentieth century.
Global Press Archive: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1870-2019. Provides newspaper coverage from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, including the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and more.
This database has a mix of open and subscription content
Center for Research Libraries Newspapers Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) catalog of newspaper holdings by name, place of publication, or keyword. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). CRL holdsnewspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including a large number of U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.

ICON: Newspaper Digitization Projects
The International Coalition on Newspapers project develops strategies to preserve and improve access to newspapers from around the globe, working on issues including bibliographic access, copyright, and information dissemination. ICON provides a freely accessible database of information about more than 25,000 U.S. and international newspaper titles.

Nexis Uni: Browsing the Source List for International Papers

Connect to Nexis Uni.
From the top menu, choose All Sources.
Though it seems counter-intuitive, in the left menu choose Jurisdiction and International.
Choose a region such as International > Europe. Or limit to a specific Country within that region.
After you have chosen your country or region, you will see a list of publications and other sources that match your geographic criteria.
At this point you may click on a title to "Get documents" from that specific publication.
Or, scroll to the top add all the filtered publications from your selected geographic region to your search.
Enter your search terms in the tiny search box.
Filter your search results by time period, type of publication, or other criteria.
Default sort is relevancy but you can also sort results by date oldest or most recent first.
Within an individual document, you may download the PDF, create a citation in various formats,save to Google Drive, or other options.

International Newspapers in the Libraries

The Libraries receive a few current international publications in paper. Check this list of current newspapers in the Periodicals Reading Room on level 2 of Mullins Library.

Below is a list of international newspapers on microfilm or microfiche.

Note that angle brackets, <>, around dates indicate incomplete runs.

Newspaper	County	City	Years	Location
The Financial post	Canada	Toronto	1975-1986	Microfilm HG1 .F49
China post	China	Taipei	1966,1969-1970,1972. Holdings incomplete.	Microfilm Film 1166
Granma weekly review	Cuba	Havana	S 1974-Je 1977.	Microfilm Film 1446
al-Ahram weekly	Egypt	Cairo	2003-2004	Microfilche DT43 .A5
Le figaro	France	Paris	1914-1919	Microfilm Film 1044
Der Kurier	Germany	Berlin	1945-1949	Microfilm Film 560
Der Morgen	Germany	Berlin	1945-1949	Microfilm Film 561
Die Neue Zeitung	Germany	München	1945-1949	Microfilm Film 562
Neue Zeit	Germany	Berlin	1945-1949	Microfilm Film 559
Hoey's Dublin Mercury	Ireland	Dublin	1770-1771	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reels 319-320
The Dublin Mercury	Ireland	Dublin	1769-1770	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 319-320
The Flying post, or, The post-master	Ireland	London	1701-1702	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 125
Filasṭīn = Falastin	Palestine (now Israel)	Jaffa	<1929:9:21-1931:12:26> <1932:3:12,4:30,5:7> <1938:8:13-1939:7:25> <1941:11:1-1942:12:31> <1943:11:1-1948:12:31> <1950:1:1-1955:11:30> <1961:1:1-12:31>	Microfilm DS110.J3 F4
Business times	Nigeria	Lagos	Jy 6, 1976-Jy 19, 1977	Microfilm Film 1422
The Singapore herald	Singapore	Singapore	Jy-D 1970	Microfilm Film 1149
The Straits times	Singapore	Singapore	<1966:1:1-1975:5:15>	Microfilm DS598.S7 A27
The Bangkok post	Thailand	Bangkok	1974-1975	Microfilm Film 1171
Applebee's original weekly journal	United Kingdom	London	1720	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 231
Con-test	United Kingdom	London	1756-1757	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 230
Fog's weekly journal	United Kingdom	London	1728-1730	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 331
How do you do?	United Kingdom	London	1796	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 269
Lloyd's evening post	United Kingdom	London	1763-1800	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 167-168,396-423
Lloyd's evening post and British chronicle	United Kingdom	London	1757-1763	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reels 167-168, 396-423
London and provincial entr'acte	United Kingdom	London	1871-1872	Microfilm PN2580 .L66
Man	United Kingdom	London	1755	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 214
Parker's penny post	United Kingdom	London	1725-1727	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 232-233
Sunday times	United Kingdom	London	1984-	Microfilm DA675 .S96
The Adventurer	United Kingdom	London	1752-1754	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 2
The Bath chronicle	United Kingdom	Bath	1784,1787-1789	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 44-44A
The British mercury	United Kingdom	London	1713-1716	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 45
The Centinel	United Kingdom	London	1757	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 49
The Country journal, or, The craftsman	United Kingdom	London	1733-1742	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 47-48,298
The Craftsman : being a critique on the times	United Kingdom	London	1727	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 47-48
The Daily advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1796	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 50-51
The daily courant	United Kingdom	London	1702-1726,1734	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 52-74,299-301
The Daily gazetteer	United Kingdom	London	1735-1741	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 75,302-306
The Daily journal	United Kingdom	London	1721-1724,1727-1735	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 76-85, 307-309
The Daily post	United Kingdom	London	1723-1724,1727-1731,1736-1745	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 86-94,310-317
The Daily universal register	United Kingdom	London	1785-1787	Microfilm DA675 .T5
The Diary, or, Woodfall's register	United Kingdom	London	1789	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 318
The Entr'acte	United Kingdom	London	1872-1907	Microfilm PN2580 .L66
The Evening mail	United Kingdom	London	1791	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 330
The Evening post	United Kingdom	London	1712-1724	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 120-123
The Free-enquirer	United Kingdom	London	1761	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 46
The Gazetteer and new daily advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1765-1770	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 332-341"
The General advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1745-1751	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 126-129,342-351
The General evening post	United Kingdom	London	1748,1771-1776,1790	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 130-132,352-356
The Grub-Street journal	United Kingdom	London	1730-1737	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 159,395
The Guardian weekly	United Kingdom	Manchester	124-131 1981-1984	Microfiche AP4 .G83
The London advertiser, and literary gazette	United Kingdom	London	1751	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 430
The London chronicle	United Kingdom	London	1769,1781,1783-1784,1787-1788	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 169-175,424
The London chronicle, or, Universal evening post	United Kingdom	London	1759-1762,1764	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 176-178,425-427
The London courant, and Westminster chronicle	United Kingdom	London	1780	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 428-429A
The London daily advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1751	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 431
The London daily advertiser and literary gazette	United Kingdom	London	1751	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 430-431
The London daily post, and general advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1736,1738-1741,1743	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 179-180, 432-435
The London entr'acte	United Kingdom	London	1870-1871	Microfilm PN2580 .L66
The London evening-post	United Kingdom	London	1730-1778	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 181-198,436-457
The London gazette	United Kingdom	London	1700-1788	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 199-210,458-481
The London journal	United Kingdom	London	1725-1734	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 211-213
The Manchester guardian	United Kingdom	Manchester	1828-1952	Microfilm DA690.M4 M2
The Manchester guardian	United Kingdom	Manchester	1821-1825	Microfilm DA690.M4 M2
The Manchester guardian and British volunteer	United Kingdom	Manchester	1825-1828	Microfilm DA690.M4 M2
The Manchester guardian weekly	United Kingdom	Manchester	1985-1989	Microfiche AP4 .G83
The Middlesex journal and evening advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1775	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 498
The Middlesex journal, or, Chronicle of liberty	United Kingdom	London	1769,1771-1772	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 215, 499-500
The Monitor, or, The British freeholder	United Kingdom	London	1755-1762	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 216-217
The morning chronicle	United Kingdom	London	1795- 1798	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 218-221
The Morning chronicle and London advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1787	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 222-223
The Morning post	United Kingdom	London	1794	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 224
The Morning post and daily advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1786, 1788	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 225-228
The Morning post and fashionable world	United Kingdom	London	1794	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 229
The Old maid	United Kingdom	London	1755-1756	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 230
The Original weekly journal	United Kingdom	London	1719-1720	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 231
The Parliamentary spy	United Kingdom	London	1769-1770	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 166
The Public advertiser	United Kingdom	London	1764,1768,1771,1780-1785,1788	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 235-250
The Public ledger	United Kingdom	London	1761	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 251-252
The St. James's chronicle, or, British evening-post	United Kingdom	London	1789-1795	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 256-262
The Stars and stripes	United Kingdom	London	<1942:4:18-1945:10:15>	Microfilm Film 868
The times	United Kingdom	London	1788-	Microfilm DA675 .T5
The Traiteur	United Kingdom	London	1780-1781	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 46
The Universal spectator and weekly journal	United Kingdom	London	1730-1733	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 265
The Weekly journal, or, British gazetteer	United Kingdom	London	1716-1720	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 266
The Weekly miscellany	United Kingdom	London	1732-1734	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 267
The Whisperer	United Kingdom	London	1770-1772	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 269
The White-hall evening-post	United Kingdom	London	1789	Microfilm PN5114 .E27 Reel 270

International Newspapers from Other Collections

Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is your best source for historical newspapers from around the globe. CRL collects rare materials, including foreign newspapers, and makes them available to member libraries like the U of A.

Search the CRL Newspaper Catalog by title or by place of publication. You can borrow what you find on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). You may also find that portions of some papers have been digitized for use online.

Center for Research Libraries Newspapers Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) catalog of newspaper holdings by name, place of publication, or keyword. CRL is a cooperative collection of esoteric materials. Because the LIbraries are CRL members you may borrow materials on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). CRL holdsnewspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including a large number of U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.

Other places to look

Try these catalogs to help you identify other newspapers on microfilm that can be borrowed on interlibrary loan.

Newspapers on Microform
Call Number: Z 6951 .U469 and online at the Library of Congress
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress: 1948-1983
In 3 volumes:
Volumes 1-2 cover the United States by state and city.
Volume 3 covers foreign countries alphabetically by country.
Lists newspapers reported as being held on microfilm by US libraries up until 1983. Very useful for browsing by place of publication.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org is open to all to use.
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).