With the addition of Early American Newspapers, Series I, the Libraries have added back years of the earlier titles of the Gazette and Democrat. Below is a table summarizing our holdings online and in print. Note there are tabs for the Little Rock and Northwest Arkansas versions.
The Arkansas State Archives is participating in the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) to digitize and make available dozens of Arkansas newspapers.
The NDNP project is a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC) to provide free online access to historic newspapers from across the United States and U.S. territories.
The Arkansas State Archives began work on the NDNP project in 2017 and to date has coordinated the digitization of newspapers from more than 25 counties. All newspapers can be searched and viewed on the Library of Congress' Chronicling America site.
Chronicling America newspapers can be found in OneSearch; for articles and page images of those papers, visit the Chronicling America website.
Due to Mullins Renovation Phase 2, all microforms have been to remote locations. This includes our Arkansas Newspaper collection.
While we update catalog records in OneSearch, please refer to the working spreadsheet below for details of our holdings.
Covers: 1800-1900.A fully-searchable, facsimile archive of hundreds of U.S. papers, including the Arkansas Gazette (1819-1898), Arkansas Democrat (1846-1899), the Arkansas State Gazette (1836-1865), and the Morning Republican (Little Rock, 1867-1875).
The Libraries have a large collection of newspapers on microfilm from all regions of the state. Search OneSearch by newspaper title or check the spreadsheet below.
Arkansas Union List of NewspapersIn addition to online versions of papers, these indexes may help you locate newspaper stories not yet digitized.
