Research Guides: Newspapers: Newspaper Indexes

Online Newspaper Indexes

These resources will help you locate newspaper articles on particular topics.

Arkansas Gazette Index / Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Index
While most will search the full test in the America's News database, these indexes may offer a better digest of topics and events. The online version provides PDFs of the indexes covering 1880-1893 and parts of 1957 and the decades of the 1960s, 1980s, and 1990s.
The printed index covers 1819-1894 and 1960-1993 in and is shelved in REF AI 21 .A75.
The online version of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat-Gazette can be found at https://uark.libguides.com/ARDEMGAZ.
The microfilm of the Arkansas Gazette and Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is housed in Library Annex Lisa at call number F419.L7 A7.
Atlanta Constitution Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1868-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. The Libraries have scattered issues from 1868-1880 at call number Multimedia Microfilm F281 .A84; other years can be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Baltimore Sun Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1837-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. Microfilm of past issues may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Chicago Tribune Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1849-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. The Libraries have the Tribune on microfilm at Multimedia Microfilm F548.1 .C4 for 1849-1945 (some issues missing). Other years can be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Detroit Free Press Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1837-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. Microfilm of past issues may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Guardian Index, 1791-2004
A searchable index of the Manchester Guardian and Observer. The Libraries have the Guardian on microfilm at Library Annex Cabinets DA690.M4 M2 for 1821-1950; other years can be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Hartford Courant Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1764-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. Microfilm of past issues may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Le Monde Index
Covers 1944-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. Microfilm of past issues may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). Some recent issues are available online.
Los Angeles Times Index on Newspapers.com
Covers 1881-. Searchable index to identify issues of interest. Access to the full text is limited to subscribers. The Libraries have microfilm for 1981-present at F 869.L8 L882 ; other past issues may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).(

Print Indexes

At times, a printed index compiled by a human may be easier to follow than keyword searching across a large newspaper file.

Below are some notable printed indexes in the library collections. You may also refer to Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers (Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1977-1980. MAIN PN4855 .M55 1977) for information on available indexes at local libraries and other societies. Organized by state and city.Though dated, still useful .

Arkansas Gazette Index and Democrat-Gazette Index. 1964-. (Covers 1819-1894 and 1960- ). REF AI 21 .A75.
The New York Times Index. 1851- and Personal Name Index to the New York Times. REF AI 21 .N44 and Z5301 .F28.
The Times of London Index. 1790-. REF AI 21 .T5 and AI 21 .T46

You may also refer to Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers (Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1977-1980. MAIN PN4855 .M55 1977) for information on available indexes at local libraries and other societies. Organized by state and city.Though dated, still useful .

Arkansas Gazette Index and Democrat-Gazette Index
Call Number: REF AI 21 .A75
Publication Date: 1964-
Covers 1819-1894;1960-1993; 1995-1999. Some years available online at https://libguides.atu.edu/about/libraryspace/collections/digital/agi-adgi
The Arkansas Gazette Obituaries Index, 1819-1879 by Stephen J. Chism
ISBN: 0893083984
Publication Date: 1990
This index includes 14,329 entries of unequivocal reports of death in which a person(s) is named between the years 1819 and 1879. The Arkansas Gazette for the same period lists 4,201 names under the heading "Deaths". This can be attributed to the inclusive policy of listing every mention of death, whether it appears in an obituary column or in the text of an article on another subject. If a person identified in an obituary used an alias, the index bears an entry under both the alias and the name given at birth. If the name appears spelled differently in two references of a death, it is listed as it is spelled. This index, arranged alphabetically, contains the last name of the deceased, followed by the first name, middle initial, title as given (Mrs., Mr., Miss., Corp., Capt., Col., etc.), where death appears with month and day of the issue of the newspaper, page and column it appeared on.
New York Times Index and Prior Series
Call Number: Library Annex AI21 .N44
Publication Date: 1913-2012
Covers 1851-2012. Very detailed index. There are also cumulative personal names indexes, Personal name index to 'The New York Times Index', 1975-2006 supplement, shelved separately at Library Annex Z5301 F28 1976.
Times of London Index / Index to the Times / Official Index to the Times / Palmer's Index to the Times, etc.
Call Number: Library Annex AI21 .T46
Covers 1790-2012. Indexes the Times, Sunday times and magazine, Times literary supplement, Times educational supplement, Time educational supplement Scotland, and the Times higher education supplement

What to Do with a Citation

You have a citation to a newspaper story.

Now what?

View our video on how to read a citation.

Look in OneSearch under the name of the newspaper to determine the call number and location.

Still lost? Ask Us!