At the University Libraries

Use the Journal search tab in OneSearch for papers held in the University Libraries.

Some newspaper records can be quite complicated, as newspapers may have many title or publication changes. If in doubt, Ask Us! 

At Other Libraries

For papers available from other libraries, try these sources:

At the University Libraries

U.S. Papers, Including Arkansas

• Search in OneSearch under place name as keyword, example
  • United States [state] [county] [city]
  • "United States Arkansas Benton Bentonville"
  • Place quotes around the phrase for more exact searching
  • Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

International Newspapers

• Try OneSearch with place name and keyword newspapers, e.g.
  • (london or britain) and newspapers
• Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

At Other Libraries

For newspapers outside our collections, try both printed and online catalogs. Once you have identified a paper, you can request to borrow microfilm on Interlibrary Loan. 

United States Papers, Including Arkansas

International Papers

To Identify U.S. and Arkansas Papers by Date

You will then have to check OneSearch to see if we own those newspapers. Note that these tools may list titles not in our library.

To Identify International Newspapers by Date

Try OneSearch

You can search in OneSearch for the keyword phrase "[audience]--newspapers."  For more precision, try an advanced search in the subject field.  
This strategy may also work for organizations or movements but much depends on how the title was cataloged. 
This technique will also work in WorldCat for titles beyond our collections. 
Some examples

• "african americans--newspapers"
• "cherokee indians--newspapers"
• "national organization for women--newspapers"
• "black power--united states--newspapers" 

Use Specialized Databases

The Libraries subscribe to a number of online collections of newspapers by or for specific communities.  Below are a few. 

Use Subject Bibliographies

Subject bibliographies will provide more comprehensive surveys than online searching. Below is a sample list; you can search for others in OneSearch with the keywords [audience] newspapers bibliography.  Examples:

• german-americans newspapers bibliography
• labor newspapers bibliography

Once you have identified a paper of interest, you can request it on Interlibrary Loan or check OneSearch by title.