This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers   Tags: subjectguide  

How to find current and historical newspapers at the Libraries and beyond.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2013 URL: http://uark.libguides.com/newspapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Is this Guide Helpful?

Post your questions about this topic or comments on how to improve this guide here! 

 

Ways to Search

Look for newspapers by

 

Headlines

..from the New York Times

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Arkansas News

...from the Arkansas Democrat Gazette

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

New Resource: World Newspaper Archive

Cape Town Gazette Masthead

The Libraries have recently acquired access to World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers

This collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. African Newspapers features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.

 

Welcome

Ask a Librarian

This guide is designed to help you find current and historical newspapers and newspaper articles.  

Need help along the way? Ask a Librarian!

 

How to Find Newspapers - By Title

Look under Journal Title in the library catalog. Records for newspapers will tell you where to find current paper issues and older years on microfilm. Some newspaper records can be quite complicated, as newspapers may have many title or publication changes.

Example of an InfoLinks record for a newspaper

 

Finding Newspapers by Place of Publication

For Arkansas papers:

Use our Arkansas Newspaper Search to locate papers by county or city.

For Arkansas newspapers outside out collection, the following book has an index by county:

Brendel, Shirley J. Arkansas Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1987. REF DESK Z 6952 .A8 A74 1987.

You can also use the Newspaper Search at the Arkansas History Commission to view their newspaper holdings by county and city. 

For other U.S. newspapers:

Search in InfoLinks under place name as subject, e.g.,

United States [county] [city]

United States Oklahoma Muskogee

United States Georgia Fulton Atlanta


For foreign newspapers:

Try a keyword search with place name and keyword newspapers, e.g.


(london or britain) and newspapers

For newspapers outside our collection, use a printed catalog such as:

Newspapers in Microform. 3v. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1973‐. REF DESK Z 6951 .U469. Lists newspapers held in U.S. libraries by country, state, and city.


Arkansas Union List of Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1993. REF DESK Z 6952 .A8 .A75. (Note that this list does not include foreign newspapers).

 

Finding Newspapers by Date of Publication

Use our Arkansas Newspaper Search to locate papers by decade in our library.

For papers outside of Arkansas or outside of our collection, you can browse the date indexes in:

Brendel, Shirley J. Arkansas Newspapers. Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, 1987. REF DESK Z 6952
.A8 A74 1987.

Lathern, Edward Connery. Chronological tables of American Newspapers, 1690 1820. Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society. REF Z 6951 .L3.

You will then have to check InfoLinks to see if we own those newspapers. Note that these tools may list titles not in our library.

Web Services Librarian

Profile Image
Beth Juhl
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
216C MULN
479-575-4665
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Classics
Jabber:
bjuhl@jabber.uark.edu
 
University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Phone: 479-575-4104
Toll-free: 866-818-8115
Fax: 479-575-6656
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip