The Preservation Glossary defines useful preservation terminology and includes three chapters:

• Damage Glossary: terms that may be helpful in understanding and describing damages or condition.
• Materials Glossary: Materials that may be encountered or used in the storage, exhibition or transport of collections.
• Preservation Glossary: Terminology that may be encountered in the preservation of archives and other collections.

The Preservation Glossary was created in March 2022 by the Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts in partnership with Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia as part of the Community Stewardship Program.

Preservation Week is celebrated annually during the last week of April. The program's website has additional preservation resources and information.

• Started in 2010
• Observed nationally and annually
• Initiative of ALA’s Association of Library Collections and Content Services (ALCTS)
• Goal: create awareness about preservation needs
• Inspire libraries, archives, museums, communities, families, and individuals to take active role in preservation

Find a Conservator

American Institute of Conservation (AIC) - https://www.culturalheritage.org/membership/find-a-conservator

Professional Organizations

American Institute for Conservation (AIC) - https://www.culturalheritage.org/

Society of American Archivists (SAA) - http://www2.archivists.org/

Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (AATA Online) - http://aata.getty.edu

American Institute for Conservation (AIC), Book & Paper Wiki - http://www.conservation-wiki.com/wiki/Book_%26_Paper

American Institute for Conservation (AIC), Resources List - http://www.culturalheritage.org/resources

American Library Association, Preservation Week - http://www.ala.org/alcts/preservationweek

American Library Association, Rare Books and Manuscripts - http://rbms.info/

Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) - https://www.canada.ca/en/conservation-institute.html

CoOL (Conservation OnLine) - http://cool.conservation-us.org/

Library of Congress, Preservation Directorate - http://www.loc.gov/preservation/

National Archives and Records Administration, Preservation - https://www.archives.gov/preservation

National Park Service Conserve O Grams - https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html

Northeast Document and Conservation Center - https://www.nedcc.org/

Archival Products - http://www.archival.com

Gaylord Archival - http://www.gaylord.com/

Hollinger Metal Edge - http://www.hollingermetaledge.com/

Talas - http://www.talasonline.com/

University Products - https://www.universityproducts.com/