A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.

The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

Offers a collaborative platform for libraries and organizations to share open access content (primarily books). Libraries contribute to "unlatch" scholarly content so that it is freely available to all. Knowledge Unlatched is a clearinghouse; many full text titles are hosted on OAPEN.org while others are housed at https://paperhive.org.

Covers: 1950s-. The OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation. Most of the books are from European publishers.

A repository of more than 7000 open textbooks, including those created or adopted by UofA faculty.