The Vertical File was boxed and transferred to LINX in preparation for the renovation. To request a folder, open the linked spreadsheet below and copy the barcode for the correct box. The boxes are organized alphabetically. You'll create a new request manually in Aeon by pasting the barcode in the barcode field, copy and pasting the title of the box in the Title field, identifying the Collection Type as Vertical File, and calling the box over by adding the SC in the Delivery Stop field and STOR in the Offsite Location field. Save the request and print the callslip to initiate the transfer.  

Notes on Florence Price Collections:

• Researchers interested in performing Florence Price's music must request permission from Wise Music. Contact information for Wise Music is in the Rolodex. 
• University Libraries and Special Collections do not own the rights to stills of Florence Price and we do not have contact information for copyright holders of those images. It's likely that many of the studios where the images were taken are now defunct, and that the photographers are deceased. It is the responsibility of the researcher to identify and seek permission from the copyright holder.

When referring a patron to Katrina Windon:

• Give patron Katrina's email and phone number but put an emphasis on her preference for email (reduces instances of miscommunication).
• Alert Katrina to incoming referral via email or Teams.

Notes from Geoffery 5/19/21:

• Post reports are a good source of info
• Grantee reports—restricted, unlikely to ever be open to researchers
  • In Cu collection, non-US reports are called “visitor reports”
  • Be super careful with grantee reports

• Questions related to Fulbright directories
  • Directories are not comprehensive for all years
  • We can not validate if someone was a Fulbrighter
  • Directories do not include students
  • We do have some foreign grantee directories
  • 1948-1960 our records are roughly comprehensive

• Questions related to pictures of Fulbright or from the Fulbright program
  • Use CU index in the print finding aid
  • Photographs in post reports
  • Photos of Fulbright are usually in his senatorial papers (series 86, box 3a and 3b)

• Find a copy/recopy the “History of the CU”

Restriction Notes:

Copyright:

• All publication and performance rights are retained by the Estate of William Grant Still and Verna Arvey.
• Permission to reproduce any materials and photographs in the collection must be obtained from the Estate of William Grant Still and Verna Arvey.
• All permissions must be in writing.
• Contact information is available in Rolodex
• Scrapbooks, Volumes 1-84, are restricted due to their fragility. Microfilm is available to researchers.
• Volumes 85-101 are not microfilmed and may be handled by researchers.

It's useful to check these resources for digitized copies of rare books before digitizing a book from Special Collections:

• Internet Archive
• HathiTrust

The Rare Books Librarian created a research guide:

• Painted and Illuminated Manuscripts

Notification of Intent to Publish:

• Permission to publish drawings must be granted by Special Collections
• Permission to print photographs: rights not held by the University

Fulbright College controls access to the New York Post Archive. Contact information below:

Robyn M. Sarling-Ledbetter

For more information: 

https://www.kuaf.com/ozarks-at-large-stories/2019-12-02/u-of-a-library-acquires-new-york-post-photo-archive

Some broadsides were cataloged before ArchivesSpace was capable of listing child-level barcodes. In those instances, the DH numbers of the containers were used instead of barcodes.

If a request comes through with a DH number instead of a barcode:

1. Search the DH number in Caiasoft under the inventory management tab
2. Find the item from the list of materials housed in the container
3. Copy and paste the barcode into the barcode field of the Aeon request