Click the link to navigate to the corresponding template.
The first step is to identify the materials you would like to consult. You can search in ArchiveSpace, which is the database that includes finding aids for manuscript collections, and you might also want to try searching OneSearch, which includes the published materials housed in Special Collections.
After you’ve identified materials you would like to consult, the next step is to register a Special Collections researcher account through Aeon: https://uark.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon.
Once you have an Aeon account and have narrowed your requests, you can make your request by selecting the folder or item in the right-side menu of the finding aid in ArchiveSpace, and then clicking the Aeon Request button.
You should schedule your appointment when submitting your Aeon requests. Appointments and requests must be submitted at least 5 days in advance of your planned visit. Special Collections is currently open M-F from 9-12 and 1-4, by appointment only.
Alternatively, if those hours don’t work for you, we provide up to 300 pages of access copies in PDF format, free of charge. You’ll make these requests in Aeon by choosing the Copy Request option in the Actions menu to the right of the request.
Our online research guide (https://uark.libguides.com/ResearchSpecialCollections) will walk you through the registration and requesting processes.
Please let us know if you have any other questions.
We do ask that all researchers schedule their appointments and request materials at least 5 business days in advance. If you know the dates you plan to visit, I’d be happy to get you on the calendar.
Below is some information to help you plan your visit:
For on-campus lodging, find more information at: http://www.innatcarnallhall.com/
If you will have a car, you may find it convenient to obtain a temporary parking permit from the University Transit and Parking Office at 155 Razorback Road (near the corner of Nettleship and Razorback Road, across the street from Bud Walton Arena). That office is open M-F 7am to 5pm, (479) 575-2459. You can obtain from them (for $6.87 per day, $27.48 per week) a temporary parking permit and information about where you may park: https://admissions.uark.edu/visit/directions-and-parking.php
Special Collections is located on level 1 (basement level) of Mullins Library. A campus map is available at: http://campusmaps.uark.edu/.
Please let me know if you have additional questions.
Dear <#User.FirstOrPreferredName> <#User.LastName>,
Thanks for requesting an appointment in the Special Collections reading room on <#Appointment.StartTime> during the [morning] [afternoon] block. I have you on our calendar.
The reading room is open from 9-12pm and 1-4pm M-F. We offer two, three-hour block appointments per day; the morning block is 9-12pm and the afternoon block is 1-4pm. If you would like to stay for the entire day, you will need to schedule an appointment for the morning and afternoon blocks. Please be aware that Special Collections is closed 12-1pm between each block.
Below is some information to help you plan your visit:
Please ensure laptops and phones are fully charged before coming to your research appointment. We have limited outlets available for patron use in the Reading Room. Researchers are welcome to step out to charge their electronics on the third or fourth floors.
Parking: There is metered parking available on Arkansas Ave., the Arkansas Union Parking Garage, and the Garland Ave. Parking Garage. If you need further assistance getting to the building from your car, please coordinate with Research Services by responding to this email or calling us at 479-575-8444. For more information about parking, please take a look at the campus parking map: https://parking.uark.edu/parkmap.pdf.
Special Collections is closed 12-1 to prepare for the afternoon appointment block. Researchers are asked to take any personal belongings with them while we are closed.
In the event that Special Collections needs to close or adjust the hours of operation due to inclement weather or staffing shortages, you will be notified of the change, and asked to reschedule during open hours.
If you have questions before your visit, please email us at <#System.GeneralEmailAddress> or call us at <#System.GeneralPhone>.
We look forward to your visit.
Sincerely,
Special Collections
______________________
<#System.LibraryName>
<#System.InstitutionalName>
Dear <#User.FirstOrPreferredName> <#User.LastName>,
[Closure:]
Due to [COVID exposure, staffing shortages, inclement weather, etc.] the Special Collections reading room will be closed on [DAY, DATE]. Unfortunately, we will not be able to accommodate you for your scheduled appointment on <#Appointment.StartTime> . We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.
We plan to be open to the public by [DAY, DATE] [during our regular hours; with limited hours from [XX:XX-XX:XX]. If you would like to reschedule your appointment or any of the associated requests, please log in to <#System.SystemName> at <#System.SystemURL>.
[Adjusted hours:]
Due to [COVID exposure, staffing shortages, inclement weather, etc.] the Special Collections reading room will be open for limited hours from [XX:XX-XX:XX] M-F. Unfortunately, your scheduled appointment on <#Appointment.StartTime> , cannot be accommodated. To reschedule your appointment or any of the associated requests, please log in to <#System.SystemName> at <#System.SystemURL>. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.
[Requested Cancelation:]
Per your request, your appointment on <#Appointment.StartTime>, has been canceled. If you would like to reschedule your appointment or any of the associated requests, please log in to <#System.SystemName> at <#System.SystemURL>.
If you have a question about this cancellation, please contact us at
<#System.GeneralEMailAddress> or <#System.GeneralPhone>.
Thank you,
Special Collections
____________
<#System.InstitutionName>
<#System.LibraryName>
We provide up to 300 pages of access copies in PDF format, free of charge. If the item is still protected by copyright, we can scan up to 10% of the item. If you are interested in making requests for PDF access copies, please register for an online researcher account with us in Aeon: https://uark.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon.
Once you have an account, you can make requests by clicking on the “aeon request” button in the upper right corner of the finding aid for the items in ArchivesSpace, or by clicking the “Special Collections request” button for the item for OneSearch. You’ll then be able to edit and submit your request.
Our online guide (https://uark.libguides.com/ResearchSpecialCollections) will walk you through registration and the process of creating and submitting requests.
There are instructions for placing your request available here: https://uark.libguides.com/ResearchSpecialCollections/Reproductions.
Special Collections provides permission to publish from our holdings when the University of Arkansas is the copyright holder. If the University of Arkansas is not the copyright holder, or if your use falls within the fair use limitations on copyright (§ 107, Title 17, United States Code), you do not need our permission as the holder of the physical materials to publish. If the University of Arkansas is not the rights holder for the requested materials, researchers are responsible for determining copyright status of materials intended for publication and securing applicable rights and permissions prior to publication.
We do appreciate it when, regardless of rights status, researchers submit a Notification of Intent to Publish form prior to publication in print or online, display, performance, or distribution. Additional information on formatting citations to materials from our holdings is available in our citation guide.
Special Collections has received your Notification of Intent to Publish form.
The University of Arkansas is not the rights holder for the identified materials, so you do not need our permission to publish.
We will keep your completed notification on file and have provided a copy below for your records.
View our citation guide for information on citing materials.
Special Collections has received your Notification of Intent to Publish form. The University of Arkansas is the rights holder for the identified materials.
Your request for permission to publish has been approved by STAFF NAME, DATE. We will keep your completed notification on file and have provided a copy below for your records.
Notification of intent to publish, rights held and permission granted
Special Collections has received your Notification of Intent to Publish form. The University of Arkansas is the rights holder for the identified materials.
Your request for permission to publish has not been approved as requested by STAFF NAME, DATE because: INSERT REASON.
Special Collections holds prints of physical photographs of Florence Price, but we are not the rights holder for any of the photographs in the Florence Price Papers. Because we are not the rights holder, we cannot provide permission or licensing for these photographs. The rights holder was the photographer and/or photographer’s studio that created the photograph. Many creators are unidentified, and many of the studios whose work is included in the Price Papers are now defunct and the photographers almost certainly deceased.
If you are able to locate the rights holder or determine that the photograph is or is likely an orphan work and decide to proceed with publishing it, we are happy to provide a high-resolution digital scan. To request a scan, click the “request item->request high resolution download” button at the upper right of this page: LINK.
We appreciate it when researchers fill out a notification of intent to publish form, which helps us track usage of materials in our holdings. For guidance on citing manuscript materials, consult our citation guide.
Copying of Florence Price material may be made for research and single use only. No material may be published or performed without permission of the copyright holder. For information contact:
Will Adams, Wise Music
G. Schirmer, Inc.
1247 6th Street
Santa Monica, CA 90401
Email: will.adams@wisemusic.com
Phone: (310)393-9900
The Still Estate controls the rights to the collection, and they have placed the following restriction on all copies (both those researchers make in the reading room and those we make on a researcher’s behalf):
Permission to reproduce any materials and photographs in the collection must be obtained from the Estate of William Grant Still and Verna Arvey. All permissions must be in writing. The Estate can be contacted at:
William Grant Still Music 809 W. Riordan Road, Suite 100, Box 109 Flagstaff, AZ 86001-0810 Phone: (928) 526-9355 Fax: (928) 526-0321 Email: discovermusic@williamgrantstill.com
If you would like copies, please email the Estate to obtain permission. Once you’ve received it, forward that email to specoll@uark.edu so that we’ll know we have been given the go-ahead by the Estate.
Thank you for submitting this form and your interest in using interviews with Daisy Bates. I've checked records related to the collection, and rights are a bit tricky for the A/V material. When Daisy Bates donated her papers to the University of Arkansas, she transferred all intellectual property rights that she held to the university. However, there isn't full metadata for these interviews on the tapes, so I've been unable to determine the original source of the interviews. This would determine if Ms. Bates held the rights to the recordings, which would have transferred to us. To the extent that the University of Arkansas holds the rights for these interviews, we approve your request to publish. However, I can't guarantee that we are the only rights holder and, unfortunately, our records don't have any further information about the original source of these recordings. If you have access to legal counsel or a rights management department at your institution, I'd recommend conferring with them prior to proceeding with your publication.
Rights not held, permission granted for educational activities:
Thank you for your interest in this recording from the Ozark Folksong Collection. The original project was a collaboration between Mary Parler, UA Department of English, and the University Libraries. Unfortunately, we don’t have any records of consent from participants in the project, so we are not unequivocally the rights holder. We do, however, provide access for educational activity, which would include [educational activity] which you describe, and we’d be happy to see you use this recording in your [educational activity].
Rights not held, neither grant nor deny:
Special Collections is not the rights holder for the Ozark Folksong Collection; the rights for the transcriptions more than likely remained with Vance Randolph (now deceased), although that is not documented with certainty in our records. Since we aren’t the rights holder, we don’t license or require permission for use of materials. We do ask that those who choose to publish materials from our collections cite them appropriately and fill out our Notification of Intent to Publish form (https://libraries.uark.edu/specialcollections/forms/notification-of-intent-to-publish.asp), which lets us know who is planning to use the material, and how they plan to use it.