Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: American Culture Series

Online Options

Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1639-1819. Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th,18th, and early 19th centuries. Provides complete digital editions, covering subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Parts 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1680-1800. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) captures most significant books (monographs) published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century regardless of language, plus thousands of English-language works from elsewhere. Search by keywords in the text or by fields such as work author, title, publisher, or place of publication. Texts are divided into 8 broad subject areas, such as history and geography, law, literature, or medicine and science.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.

About this Collection

American Culture Series

About: A broad collection of mostly English-language books and pamphlets published in America before 1806 (the second series continues through 1876). The set does not include manuscripts, periodicals, official public documents, maps, children's literature, abridgements, or correspondence.
Also called: American Culture Series - Series I : 1493 -1806; ACS I
Location: Library Annex Cabinets Film 47
Format: Microfilm
Items: Series I: 26 reels with 253 titles; Series II: only selected titles held by the Libraries
Arrangement: Arranged chronologically by date of publication. Use the index listed below to identify reel numbers and reel positions of specific items.
Publication: ProQuest - University Microfilms, 1979

Indexes and Guides

American culture series, 1493-1875 : a cumulative guide to the microfilm collection : American culture series I & II, years 1-20:with author, title, subject, and reel number indexes by Lo, Ophelia Y.
Call Number: Library Annex LISA ; E156 .A4
Publication Date: 1979
Includes indexes by author, title, and subject and reel number.
Items in the collection are drawn from David R. Weimer's Bibliography of American Culture

Individual titles in this set are in OneSearch, however due to a record migration issue they currently have the title "Host Bibliographic Recod for Boundwith Item..." Try searching by keyword to find them.