Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: State Constitutional Conventions, parts I and II, 1776-1976 (Arkansas)

About this Collection

State Constitutional Conventions, Parts I and II, 1776-1975, Arkansas

About: Draws together documents related to the firstfive ratified constitutions of Arkansas, as well as attempts at new constitutions through 1970.
Location: Library Annex Cabinets K5125 .S75
Format: microfiche
Arrangement: By document number, chronologically. Obtain the document number from the printed set bibliographies.
Items: 62 fiche
Publication: Rockville, Md. : Micropublishing Department, Congressional Information Service, inc, 1973-. Also issued by Greenwood Press.

Indexes and Guides

Use the printed bibliographies to locate the fiche numbers to request from the Library Annex.

State Constitutional Conventions from Independence to the Completion of the Present Union, 1776-1959 by Browne, Cynthia
Call Number: Gov Ref KF 4501 B76
ISBN: 0837170052
Publication Date: 1973
State Constitutional Conventions, 1959-1975 by Yarger, Susan Rice
Call Number: Goc Ref KF 4501 Y 37
ISBN: 0837186838
Publication Date: 1976

State Constitutional Conventions, scan of Arkansas pages
A scan of the Arkansas pages from the 1973 and 1976 guides.

Other Information

The Libraries have significant manuscript collections relating to attempts at new constitutions in 1969-70 and 1979-1980. Consult with Special Collections on these sources.

Arkansas Consitutions (Encyckopedia of Arkansas
Arkansas Constitutions (Arkansas Digital Archives, State Archives)
Digital facsimiles of the five ratified constitutions.

Online Options

Many of these documents are in the public domain and can be found in HathiTrust, Google Books, or the Internet Archive.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.