Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution

About this Collection

About: Compiled in the 1950s by the Speech Association of America, this collection provides original source materials on the development of rhetorical theory from the 16th - 19th centuries. Emphasis is on the means for archiving an impressive style in written composition and public speaking. Subjects such as proper voice modulation and gesture in speaking, language structure and development, the peculiar virtues of the classics, and the nature of poetry are also covered.
Location: Library Annex Film 16
Format: Microfilm
Arrangement: In two sections. Reels 1-9 contain works in English. Reels 9-16 contain works in Italian, French, and Latin.
Items: 16 reels; 143 titles
Publication: University Microfilms, 1953

Many of these titles are in the public domain and can be found in HathiTrust, Google Books, or the Internet Archive.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version) This link opens in a new window
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.