Draper Manuscript Collection

About

Lyman Draper collected these papers related to the history of the trans-Allegheny west. Covers the regions from the "Hudson River to the Mississippi, from Charleston to Louisville." Some materials also cover the trans-Mississippi west. Manuscript Collection include family papers and letters, legal documents, maps, journals, and diaries, business and land records, military records, copies of newspaper accounts, and some more recent interviews and secondary materials. Most of the papers cover the period 1740 - 1812. Lyman Copeland Draper () took as his life's work the collection of historical materials related to the heroes and noteworthies of westward expansion, such as Daniel Boone, William Clark, Tecumseh, and John Sevier. A full biographical sketch is available in the American National Biography online. Draper donated his collection of 478 bound volumes to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin where these materials were filmed.

Location

&Library Annex Cabinets Z 6621 .W6 D73

Format

Microfilm

Arrangement

Arranged by collection; each collection has been designated by a letter code, to which are added numeric fields for volume and page. For example, the location 7YY20 would refer to page 20 of volume 7 of the Tecumseh papers, collection YY. Following are the codes for each collection:

Reel 1: Bedinger Papers (A)

Reel 2: Draper's Life of Boone (B)

Reel 3-9: Boone Papers (C)

Reel 10: Border Forays (D)

Reel 11-13: Brady and Wetzel Papers (E)

Reel 14-19: Brant Papers (F)

Reel 20: Brant Miscellanies (G)

Reel 21: Daniel Broadhead Papers (H)

Reel 22-36: George Rogers Clark Papers (J)

Reel 37: George Rogers Clark Miscellanies (K)

Reel 38: Jonathan Clark Papers (L)

Reel 39: William Clark Papers (M)

Reel 40: William Croghan Papers (N)

Reel 41: Daniel Drake Papers (O)

Reel 42: Draper's Biographical Sketches (P)

Reel 43-45: Draper's Historical Miscellanies (Q)

Reel 46: Draper's Memoranda Books (R)

Reel 47-52: Draper's Notes (S)

Reel 53: Forsyth Papers (T)

Reel 54-59: Frontier War Papers (U)

Reel 60: Georgia, Alabama, and South Carolina Papers (V)

Reel 61: Harmar Papers (W)

Reel 62: William Henry Harrison Papers (X)

Reel 63-68: Thomas S. Hinde Papers (Y)

Reel 69: Illinois Papers (Z)

Reel 70: Irvine Papers (AA)

Reel 71-73: Simon Kenton Papers (BB)

Reel 74-80: Kentucky Papers (CC)

Reel 81-86: King's Mountain Papers (DD)

Reel 87: London Documents at Albany (EE)

Reel 88: Mecklenburg Declaration by Draper (FF)

Reel 89: Mecklenburg Declaration Papers (GG)

Reel 90: Mecklenburg Declaration Miscellanies (HH)

Reel 91-92: Newspaper Extracts (JJ)

Reel 93: North Carolina Papers (KK)

Reel 94: Paris Documents at Albany (LL)

Reel 95: Robert Patterson Papers (MM)

Reel 96-97: Pittsburgh and Northwest Virginia Papers (NN)

Reel 98: Pension Statements (OO)

Reel 99: Potter Family Papers (PP)

Reel 100-101: Preston Papers (QQ)

Reel 102-104: Rudolph-Ney Papers (RR)

Reel 105: Shepherd Papers (SS)

Reel 106: South Carolina Papers (TT)

Reel 107: South Carolina in the Revolution Miscellanies (UU)

Reel 108-114: Sumter Papers (VV)

Reel 115: John Cleves Symmes Papers (WW)

Reel 116: Tennessee Papers (XX)

Reel 117-120: Tecumseh Papers (YY)

Reel 121-123: Virginia Papers (ZZ)

Items

135 reels representing almost 500 bound volumes

Publication

&University of Chicago Libraries; Wisconsin Historical Society