Records of the States of the United States of America
About
The State Records Microfilm Project was a joint effort by the Library of Congress and the University of North Carolina to locate and reproduce the legislative proceedings and a variety of other state, county, and city records of the various states and American Indian Nations. Within each state the records are classified as legislative records, statutory law, constitutional records, administrative records. executive records, and court records. In addition, the special classes include local records (county and city), records of American Indian nations, newspapers, rudimentary states and courts, and miscellany. The newspaper section attempts to provide the official gazette in each of the colonies and the first newspaper in each territory, since some early newspapers carry the only extant printings of many official records. Generally this section covers selected issues or runs of a few months, seldom longer than a year.
The University Libraries own the following states in this set:
Alabama
Georgia
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maryland
Mississippi
North Carolina
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania
New York
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Virginia
The full set, including Arkansas, is held by the Center for Research Libraries and can be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan.
Location
brary Annex LISA Microfilm; Film 831
Format
Microfilm
Arrangement
Arranged alphabetically by state, then by type of document and year. The reel numbers start over within each state sequence.
Provides reel numbers for each state's documents. The classification numbers given in the index are printed on the microfilm boxes together with the reel numbers.
Also available in print at Library Annex US Documents ; Z1223.5.A1 U47 and Suppl.
Online Options
Many of these published titles are in the public domain and can be found in HathiTrust, Google Books, or newspaper databases.
This project at the Library of Congress offers digitized papers from all states and provides a directory of papers published since 1960. Search by keyword, browse by date or place, or limit to dates or ethnic groups.
Covers: 1690-1876. Offers the full text and pages images of American newspapers the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820”
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.
