Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: Arkansas Newspapers

About this Collection

About: The Libraries maintain an extensive collection of historical newspapers published within Arkansas. They are not a separate collection, but are described here to call attention to the extent of our holdings, second in size only to the Arkansas State Archives in in Little Rock. See also the entry under African American Newspapers.
Location: varies.
Format: microfilm
Arrangement: Newspapers are separately cataloged and classed. Use OneSearch or the indexes and bibliographies described below to locate papers of interest to you.
Items: Several hundred titles.

Arkansas Newspapers
From the Newspapers Research Guide, this page gives more information on locating Arkansas papers in all formats.

Arkansas Union List of Newspapers
Call Number: Reference and other locations Z6952.A8 A75 1993
Publication Date: Fayetteville, Ark. : University Libraries, 1993
Lists newspapers held by libraries in Arkansas
Arkansas Newspapers: a Directory of Newspapers available in Arkansas Libraries by Brendel, Shirley
Call Number: Reference and other locations Z6952.A8 A74
Publication Date: Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, .1987.
Indexes papers by county and time period.
Black Arkansas Newspapers, 1869-1975 : A Checklist by Amanda Saar
Call Number: MAIN Stacks E185.5 .S2
Publication Date: Fayetteville : University of Arkansas, c1976
History of the Arkansas press for a hundred years and more. by Fred Allsopp
Publication Date: 1922
Also available in print in the library. Offers histories of papers, arranged by county.

Chronicling America, 1770-1963
This project at the Library of Congress offers digitized papers from all states and provides a directory of papers published since 1960. Search by keyword, browse by date or place, or limit to dates or ethnic groups.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Current and Historical This link opens in a new window
Covers: 1819-. Provides the full text of articles from the Arkansas Weekly Gazette and Arkansas Gazette (1819-1991), The Arkansas Democrat (1947-1991), the Northwest Arkansas Democrat Gazette, 2006-current, and the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Little Rock edition, 1992-current as well as related papers. Includes page images for some years.
African American Newspapers: Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes issues from the Arkansas Freeman (1869), the Arkansas Mansion (1883-1884), the Arkansas State Press (1941- 1959), and Homeland (Forrest City, 1991-1999).
African American Newspapers: Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Offers full text newspapers from locations such as Helena, AR, Wichita, KS, Springfield, MO, Nashville and Seattle. Because of the scarcity of surviving copies, may papers are represented by only a few issues or even one day. A companion to African American Newspapers Series I.