Comprised of documents filmed from the holdings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, this collection covers pamphlets relative to the American Civil War. It contains not only contemporary documents of the war years, but also pertinent antebellum sources, including slavery and states' rights topics, and many postbellum materials such as memoirs and veterans' pension petitions. Sermons, personal narratives, periodicals, speeches, public letters, government reports, poetry, music, and campaign tracts are represented. Imprints of the materials are predominantly those of Northern printers and publishers, but a number of foreign publications are also included.
Location
Library Annex Cabinets E 468 C58
Format
Microfiche
Arrangement
Arranged by a classification scheme describing the content (e.g. SL 13 for an item on Soldier's Life).
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.
Civil War, 1861-1865, Pt. 1, The Bibliographic Guide to the Microfiche Collection
