Links in LibGuides are treated as system-wide Assets. This makes them much easier to manage and to share.

• Databases
  Databases formerly listed on the A-Z Guide are now Database Assets.
  Please use these database-level resources; that leaves all the maintenance to us!
• Links
  Links can be created and reused by anyone. But please recycle!

1. Click the Add / Reuse Content button and choose Database.

2. A dialog box will open. Search for the resource you wish to add. You can also browse assets if you cannot find what you want by searching.
3. Add a custom description, if you wish.
   
4. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.

1. Click the Add / Reuse Content button and choose Link.

1. A dialog box will open. You can choose to:
   1. add a new link
   2. reuse a link

To Reuse a Link (Preferred)

1. Choose the tab for Reuse Existing Link and search for the resource you wish to add.
2. If you wish to change the description, check the box for Make a copy... This will mean that your link is no longer, uh, linked to the original link you are copying.
   
3. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.

To Add a New Link

1. Complete the fields on the Create Link tab.
   • Link Name: Up to you
   • URL: Ensure that you use proxied links if the resource is a paid one.
   • Target: System default is to open in a new  window / tab
   • Proxy: please leave disabled
   • Description: no limit on characters but be concise
   • More Info: creates a mouseover info button
   • Guide Mappings: will appear if a link is reused elasewhere
   • Icon: Please follow these icon guidelines:
     • The Tower logo should designate UofA subscription / paid resources
     • The globe logo should designate resources open to all

2. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.