StaffGuide: Committees

Charge

The Collection Development Assembly consists of all librarians and some other personnel whose primary responsibilities include selection of content for the Libraries’ collections. CDA consists of all collection development librarians and includes:

  •  Associate Dean, CDI; Head, Collection Development Strategies; Director, Content Services, Head, Acquisitions (CDI)
  • Special collections librarians and other Special Collections personnel working in collection development activities (SC)
  • Subject specialist liaison librarians in the Research & Learning division (RL) 
  • Director, Digital Engagement; Scholarly Communication Librarian, Data Services Librarian, OER/Distance Education Librarian, Digital Services Librarian (CDI)
  • Other Libraries personnel at the discretion of the Associate Dean, CDI

Convened by and reporting to the Associate Dean, CDI or the AD’s appointed representative, the Collection Development Assembly serves as a deliberative body for collection development librarians. CDA provides collection development librarians with a forum to discuss trends, policies, procedures and other issues related to library collections, access to content, research data and scholarly publishing. Collection development librarians also participate in three subgroups, organized by broad subject areas (arts and humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and STEM disciplines), especially to review serials, databases, approval plans, and other collaborative work. Librarians may participate in more than one subgroup when appropriate. Librarians may, and are actively encouraged, to form other short- or long-term groups to work on specific collection development projects and to address issues such as interdisciplinarity and diversity.

Meetings

The Collection Development Assembly meets every two to three months as a group in a Collections Forum. Depending on issue and need, Collections Forums may be advisory, deliberative, informational, or instructive, and may include hands-on work. The Associate Dean, CDI consults with members of CDA, CDC and CSAC to identify topics for Collection Forums. Any employee of the Libraries may recommend a Collections Forum topic to the AD. Collections Forums are the primary venue for the Collection Development Assembly to debate, discuss, and make recommendations on issues of collection development policy and strategic planning.

Members

Send email to this group: lib-coll-dev@groups.uark.edu